Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Should contesters on CW send at speeds way above 20WPM  (Read 12933 times)
K2ACB

Ignore
« on: November 30, 2011, 11:54:42 PM »

I am a casual CW operator. I got my Extra Class License when you still had to copy 20wpm to pass the test.

I like to send and receive cw between 15 and 20WPM. Just recently there was the CQ WW CW contest. I did not enter the contest but I did listen for awhile. I noticed that a lot of stations especially in the Extra Class portions of the cw band were sending at very high speeds ,way above 20WPM.

I understand the need in a contest to work as many stations as possible in the least amount of time. However some of these contest stations were sending so quickly that their sending to me seemed like a blur.I could not even make out the call signs. It also seemed like computers were doing all the work of sending and maybe even receiving.

If at one time the FCC required an Extra Class operator to receive at 20 WPM should that not be a reasonable speed for contesters. It seemed to me that some of these conteters were sending in excess of 40wpm. As far as I am concerned that is excess speed and the average radio amateur, even if he is proficient in cw, cannot copy at 40 wpm or more. Many proficient cw operators cannot even copy proficiently  above 30 wpm.

I bring this up because in a contest people who cannot copy at excessive speeds on cw are at a disadvantage. In some contests they have different scoring  rules for people running low power or for single operators vs multiple operators and for different power levels.  .