Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What coax to use between my radios, tuner ,amp etc. (inside shack not to antenna  (Read 12786 times)
KG0DB
Member

Posts: 52




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 22, 2012, 07:28:04 PM »

N3WAK..........."Tony" you can blow it out your shorts.  The question was straight forward and relatively simple to answer, "what coax jumper"?  He didn't ask for a damn reading list recommended by some "intellectual" operator.  Paraphrasing Dwight David Eisenhower, "An intellectual is someone who uses too many words to describe something they know little about".  Guys like this make me sick.
Logged
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1509




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: March 22, 2012, 07:36:51 PM »

I use LMR 240 ultra flex in the shack as jumpers.  Then use bury flex to my antenna.  The LMR ultra flex is great and can supposedly handle power up to 5.4 kw  Shocked
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
KG0DB
Member

Posts: 52




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2012, 08:31:12 PM »

KC9TRM how refreshing.  Straight forward answer to straight forward question.  And thanks to all others who had the courtesy of an honest reply.  The "reading lists" can take a hike.
Logged
AD9DX
Member

Posts: 1509




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: March 28, 2012, 03:54:42 AM »

KC9TRM how refreshing.  Straight forward answer to straight forward question.  And thanks to all others who had the courtesy of an honest reply.  The "reading lists" can take a hike.

No problem. Glad I could help.
Logged

EX, KC9TRM, KB9IRZ
N3WAK
Member

Posts: 281




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: March 28, 2012, 02:43:06 PM »

KG0DB--Sorry I offended you.  However, my answer was responsive, polite, and immediate.  Your post (1) is four months too late, (2) doesn't address the guy's question at all, and (3) is rude.  I tried to point the guy in the right direction so that he could expand his ham radio knowledge and become more self-sufficient.  Your and my approach to things may be different...but posting that "Guys like this make me sick" and I "can blow it out of [my] shorts" doesn't seem to improve the quality of the discourse and helpfulness of the Elmer's Forum.   

I am, however, most impressed with your Eisenhower quote.  But I think you're throwing the baby out with the bathwater.  After all, President Eisenhower also stated: "Dollars and guns are no substitutes for brains and will power."  That is, even Ike recognized that there's always a place for an intellectual approach to important questions like, What's the best coax to use? 

Good luck and 73, Tony
 
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6446




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: March 28, 2012, 02:57:55 PM »

I use LMR 240 ultra flex in the shack as jumpers.  Then use bury flex to my antenna.  The LMR ultra flex is great and can supposedly handle power up to 5.4 kw  Shocked

Do not know where you got that figure. It is only rated at 980 watts at 30mhz. (about same as RG8x) If you want a small RG 58 size jumper with high power capacity you need RG142. It is rated at 9kw at 30mhz. 
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W9KDX
Member

Posts: 771




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: March 31, 2012, 07:49:09 PM »

Is this calculator http://www.timesmicrowave.com/cgi-bin/calculate.pl overly conservative then?

It shows the power handling ability of a 50 foot run of RG8X to be 360 watts on 10 meters.
Logged

Sam
W9KDX
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6446




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: March 31, 2012, 09:32:05 PM »

Is this calculator http://www.timesmicrowave.com/cgi-bin/calculate.pl overly conservative then?

It shows the power handling ability of a 50 foot run of RG8X to be 360 watts on 10 meters.

Way off. You could run 3x that. You just would not want a few hundred feet run from line loss.
Here is one chart

http://www.therfc.com/powerrat.htm#RG58
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W9KDX
Member

Posts: 771




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: April 01, 2012, 07:54:02 AM »

Thanks, I'll save my RG8X for when the LMR-240 I got to handle the higher power wears out.  At least I didn't spend a ton and I got great practice replacing all the connectors.

Shame so many tables differ on this.
Logged

Sam
W9KDX
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!