Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Delta loop antenna - may I turn the antenna upside down?  (Read 2813 times)
LZ1MAK

Ignore
« on: January 09, 2012, 12:57:54 AM »

I already made a delta loop antenna and the antenna is still inside the room. The antenna is feed 1/4 wave from the top (option 1, see the picture). It is possible to turn the antenna with the horizontal part at the top (option 2)?
I don't understand everything about the feed. Do I have to change the feed point or everything is ok at the current way?
please see option 1 and option 2:

http://prikachi.com/images/501/4242501c.jpg

What do you think: will option 2 work?
 /Sorry about my poor English/
Thank you
LZ1MAK/KC2YZL
Marin Kusev
VE7SQ

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2012, 01:29:22 AM »

Hi Marin

I have been experimenting with Delta loop antennas since 1975, it is an excellent antenna. My 1st antenna was a 2 element phased 80 meter DL array up 120 feet. I found that you can feed a single element just about anywhere. The Z is mostly 120 --- 140 ohms on 80 meters at 1/2 wavelength to the top. I feed a single element with a 1:1 balun, then an electrical 1/4 wavelength of 75 ohm from the balun. Connect a 50 ohm coax to the 75 ohm coax to the shack. The SWR will be less then 1.5:1. I usually feed my delta loops at the apex. There has been instances where you can feed the antenna at either corner. You will experience a lobe shift in one direction and the radiation angle will change as the feed is more vertical.

73 Bob VE7SQ

LZ1MAK

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2012, 02:16:09 AM »

Thank you very much Bob,