Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Alinco DX-70T  (Read 1858 times)
DL9SFE
Member

Posts: 58




Ignore
« on: December 21, 2011, 06:13:24 AM »

Hello all,
i have here an ALINCO DX-70T, the one with 10 Watt on 6m.
How can i set the Output-Power for the "Low" Setting?
The H/L function is not working properly, e.g. in position H on 80 meters  the TX delivers 100 Watt,
in position L it delivers 80 Watt. I need 10 Watt for tuning my SGC-239.

Please help!
Thank you, 73 Elmar
Logged
KG6BRG
Member

Posts: 119




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2011, 08:41:38 AM »

On my dx-70th there is a button on the front panel, used in conjunction with the function button.  This switches the power from 10 to 100 watts.  Are you doing this?  There is also a micro slide switch in the radio, on the board that limits high power to 50 watts max on high and 5 watts on low. 
If you are doing this then I suspect there might be a problem with one of your buttons.
Hope this helps.  Cheers, Scott.
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5694




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2011, 01:34:45 PM »

There are also trimmers - potentiometers - inside that can be used to set the Low and High power respectively.  Some may have fixed resistors installed, these may be replaced with potentiometer, or with different value fixed resistor to achieve the desired output for the setting. 

Do an online search for the Service Manual or Schematic to locate these. 

Avoid the urge to set the Hi to anything more than about 100W level or risk blown finals...


73
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 1966




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2011, 09:49:01 PM »

How do you measure the output power? Do you use a dummy load? May be there is really some fault and not just an incorrect measurement. Is it still under warranty?
The service manual does not say much about the adjustments. It seems pretty simple. You really need to check the schematics which are not contained in my copy of the service manual.
Logged
TANAKASAN
Member

Posts: 933




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2011, 01:17:59 PM »

The best power measurement technique I've come across is here:

http://www.ab4oj.com/test/pwrmeas.html

Tanakasan
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5694




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2011, 05:56:48 PM »

Service Manual I've got here has it listed under the "Alignment" section.

Item 8 -- Transmission Adjustment

Involves VR5, VR6, VR7 & VR8 in FM mode and requires first a Current meter inline with the power and then a good known accurate Wattmeter. 

p.47 of the manual I've got, may be on a different page for a different manual. 

Don't just start in twisting those pots, it is important to read and understand the entire procedure first, pay attention to the order in which these adjustments must be done as well as the required external and internal switch settings for each adjustment.  Failure to do so can result in a cooked set of final$$$$.

73


Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 1966




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2011, 10:56:49 PM »

I downloaded the very same service manual. They are talking about a power meter which must be connected to the antenna terminal. So this must be one with a dummy load. By any means it is no good to measure power using the antenna. That's why I'd like to know how he does actually measure.
Merry Christmas to all.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!