Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Drilling PVC  (Read 74786 times)
AE5QB

Ignore
« on: December 28, 2011, 07:20:51 PM »

I got a microfox for Christmas and am really eager to try out Fox hunting with my 7th grade students (I am a teacher).  This weekend I tried making the tape measure yagi but didn't like the way the tape measure elements are distorted when clamped to the 1/2 inch T's.  I noticed that the curvature of a 1 inch tape measure really lies nicely over a 3/4 inch piece of PVC.  So why keep it simple!  I determined that if I could drill a 13/16 inch hole in a short piece of 3/4 inch PVC and use that in place of the 1/2 T's and 1/2 crosses and then run a piece of 1/2 inch PVC through the holes as the boom, the tape measure elements lie really nicely on the 3/4 inch PVC without distorting.  And the 1/2 inch boom doesn't interfere with the lie at all.  Great idea, so I thinks!

My problem is drilling the holes in the PVC.  I have a small drill press and V block so I can hold the pipe still and get it centered really well.  However, when I advance the drill bit through the PVC, it chatters and eventually catches and splinters the PVC.  I have tried both a spade bit and a twist drill with the same results.  I think the problem is that once the point exits through the first wall, there is nothing to guide the bit until it reaches the opposite wall.  Hence the chatter and splitting.

So after all of that, my question is - how is the best way to drill this hole through the PVC without splitting it?  Any tricks to the trade?

WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 08:44:07 PM »

I was just out drilling PVC pipe for a direction-finding antenna, and I've never had any
problems.  But I use a high-speed twist drill rather than a spade drill.  After the drill