Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I connect an Ameritron amp to my Icom 706?  (Read 6903 times)
WB0AXN
Member

Posts: 90




Ignore
« on: June 03, 2003, 06:59:01 PM »

I will be recieving an Ameritron 811 amp tomorrow and I need to know how to connect it to my Icom 706.  The 706 manual only shows how to connect an Icom amplifier.  
I'm guessing I need to wire the accessory plug to the amp....using two wires?  

TIA
Roland
Logged
KG6AMW
Member

Posts: 616




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 04, 2003, 01:17:26 PM »

I wrote this a while back as my experience hooking up a Yaesu FT 840 to a AL811 ameritron.

"I’ve read recently that some seem to be having problems hooking up the Yaesu 840 rig to their amp and wanted to list several possible options to accomplish this and to open this up for additional discussion. This only addresses the hookup needed to trigger the amp. Coax and ALC are not discussed.

Most rigs have available a jack known as (TX GND) or (RELAY) connected to an internal switching device for control of external devices. The relay provides a mechanical closure to ground on transmit to trigger the amplifier. On the 840, this feature is only
accessed through the band data jack using an 8 pin mini plug. So how does one hook up the 840 to an amplifier? Here are the several ways that I know of:

1) (Hook Up To A Yaesu Amp) For Yaesu amps use their cable to plug into the band data jack on the back of the 840 that’s designed specifically for the FL-7000 or later model Yaesu amps. The 8 pin mini plug goes into the back of the 840 using the band data jack and utilizes connector pin outs, #2-TX GND and #8-LINEAR and the amp is triggered no problem.

2) (Hook Up To A Non Yaesu Amp Without Interface Device) After some research it appears that to hook up without an interface, you use a modified cable with an 8 pin mini plug that plugs into the band data jack on the 840 and on the amp side an RCA plug that goes to the relay slot. The owners manual says, “you need to match the band data control lines coming from the 840 to the non Yaesu amp”. It seems to me all you need to do is to solder the connector pin on the 8 pin mini plug that matches the #2-TX GND on the band data jack on the 840 and then connect it to the amp using an RCA plug.

2) (Hook Up To A Non Yaesu Amp With Interface Device First Option) You can use an interface such as the Yaesu FRB-757. One the amp side, connect the FRB-757 to an RCA cable and run it to the relay slot on the amp. On the rig side the FRB-757 has two lines (both RCA cables), one marked red for power which you hook up to the 13.5v jack and the other marked blue to the PTT (push to talk) jack on the 840.

3) (Hook Up To A Non Yaesu Amp With Interface Device Second Option) The final option is to purchase the Ameritron interface, ARB-702(Y). The ARB-704 works with most amplifiers. Apparently, to get this unit to work with the 840 you need to purchase the PNP-8M cable also sold by Ameritron. This cable has a 5 pin mini plug that plugs into the multi-port on the front of the ARB-704 unit with the other end consisting of a 8 pin mini plug that is connected to the band data jack on the 840. The ARB-704’s power and radio jack is not used in this situation."

Logged
WB0AXN
Member

Posts: 90




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2003, 10:48:14 PM »

KG6AMW....thanks for your lengthy post and the info therein.  
Because I've never operated an amp before,  I was not sure what exactly was needed to trigger the amp.  The Ameritron instruction manual says to connect a cable from the "relay" jack on the amplifier to the "relay" jack on the transmitter/transciever.  The Icom 706 doesn't have a "relay" jack, so I called the dealer where I  bought the 706 and was told I needed to buy a relay box for $50.  I then called Ameritron and was told I only need to short the "relay" jack to ground, which closes a relay in the amp.  The 706 doesn't have the needed power to close the amp relay and that's why an external relay is needed.  Or, if you want to get by cheap.....wire a manual switch with a phone plug on it.  So, that's what I did to check out my amp.  I was also told I could get a relay from Radio Shack for a few bucks and make my own "relay box", which will work with the Icom 706.  
I'm sure I'll figure out something.
Roland
Logged
KG6AMW
Member

Posts: 616




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2003, 09:47:31 AM »

Hello Roland. When I first set out to hook up my rig to the amplifier it stumped me . So I figured, why not go to the experts (the store that sold me the amp). I was amazed they couldn't give me the information I needed to accomplish it. I ended up buying the Yaesu interface unit, which was a simple hook up. Ameritron also has a good unit. I've also heard of other ham's making their own interface device. The key here is to make sure there's something present to protect the rig from potential voltage spikes from the amp. Good luck in your efforts.

KG6AMW
Logged
KO4NR
Member

Posts: 117




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2003, 08:07:23 AM »

Look here:
http://www.k6xx.com/radio/ic706amp.html

73,
Bill
Logged
WB0AXN
Member

Posts: 90




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2003, 09:48:24 PM »

Bill wrote:
Look here:
http://www.k6xx.com/radio/ic706amp.html

73,
Bill

Wow!  Thanks for the URL to a nice site, showing a method to connect to an amplifier.

73's,
Roland
Logged
W5HTW
Member

Posts: 729


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2003, 09:33:13 PM »

I found a place inside the 706 that has a keyed 12 vdc.  Just took a lot of poking around.  Ran a wire from that to the unused pin (I think it is pin 7) on the DIN jack. Used that keyed 12 vdc to key a miniature Radio Shack 12 v reed relay, which in turn keys the amplifier circuit.  Total cost?  $1.99 for the relay.  It is taped to the ACCSY plug that goes into the 706.  It's an SPDT reed relay, N.O. and keys the 6.3 VAC of my boat anchor Bandit well, but not fast enough for QSK. Works well on semi-QSK or on SSB.

Ed
Logged
KC8FWD
Member

Posts: 4




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: June 13, 2003, 08:59:52 PM »

Hello,
I had a Icom 706 and used it only on 6 meters with a Heathkit SB-220 converted to 6 into a 3 element M square antenna.I got my interface for the 706 from w2eny and it worked flawlessly.I sold my 706 and sb220 to buy a IC-756 but here is w2eny s webpage
http://members.fortunecity.com/w2eny/
I had no trouble with it at all 73's de KC8FWD em99
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9913




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2003, 10:20:32 PM »

The only draw back to the 840 is the amp problem.  I found a rf sensing amp and when I key, it turns on , so no problem.
Logged
KG4VBR
Member

Posts: 20




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: June 22, 2003, 02:48:39 PM »

I used a W2ENY amp interface cable to connect my 718 to an Ameritron AL-811.Works like a champ.It connects from the accessory din plug to the relay on the amp.I believe the 706 uses the same one.

        J PATRICK KG4VBR
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!