Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: icom 735 cw filter  (Read 2372 times)
N4ZY
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« on: January 02, 2012, 12:20:59 PM »

i have a ic 735 that i want to install a 500hz cw filter into. my problem is in my case  i cannot just plug it in.looks like i have to disaasemble quite a bit to get at it to solder it in. 
any ideas.?
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5887




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2012, 12:40:54 PM »

I just reviewed manual on line and I see not major problems. You can install a FL-32 or FL-63 optional 9mhz IF CW filter in open slot. If you are trying to replace stock 455 khz filter, that will be a major undertaking.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
N4ZY
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2012, 02:32:15 PM »

most manual show the filter as a plug in type that can be installed easly. but alas some you have to seperate some of the boards to get to the underside to solder them in.they have no plug in gromets on the easy side of holes. just holes(lol)  thanks for reply  ,  Jim
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 5887




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2012, 03:26:00 PM »

After looking up filters themselves by part number I see that that are not plug in. That is bad for you but not uncommon for rigs of the era. My TS-830 has a solder in filter that I put in years ago while a TS-140, TS-850, TS-450 and TS570 that I have owned were plug in. Yet my TS-480 is solder in again.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
N4ZY
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2012, 10:12:03 AM »

the problem has been taken care of. thanks.had to take 1 board out. it wasnt that bad
Logged
K0CBA
Member

Posts: 299




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2012, 09:55:47 AM »

I am sure it is too late but the 250 Hz would be a much better way to go.  I believe Icom no longer makes filters but Inrad make some pretty darned good non OEM ones.
Logged
N4ZY
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2012, 11:52:13 AM »

thanks for reply, yes the 250hz filter would have  have done a better job. but i have had this 500hz filter  around for a few years.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!