Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yeasu FT-450D tuner  (Read 1245 times)
KF7OWG
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« on: January 12, 2012, 12:51:06 PM »

I just purchased a slightly used (4 months) FT-450D. The very honest person I bought it from sent me a note with the radio letting me know that the tuner function was "off line" because he had wanted to try his new LDG tuner. I've been through the manual and tried different things to get the tuner to work but haven't suceeded. Can anyone help me with this?  Huh
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4747




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2012, 01:08:22 PM »

My 950 requires me to press and hold the tune button, which starts the tuner. Not sure on the 450.
Logged
K1WJ
Member

Posts: 454




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2012, 01:25:53 PM »

There is a setting on the FT450 in the menu - that selects tuner on - bypass on rcv or not.

Look at your manual at the various menu settings - you will find it.

Manual also states how to turn on tune & actual tuning operation - very easy.

I have had my FT450 for 3+ years - very happy - 73 K1WJ - David
Logged
KF7OWG
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2012, 02:30:57 PM »

Thanks. I'll give that a shot.  Mark K7OWG
Logged
K1WJ
Member

Posts: 454




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 12, 2012, 02:53:03 PM »

I'll expand a little - once you set Tuner function up in menu.

Touch tune button quickly to turn on.

Then hold tune button down until tuning starts.

Antenna needs to be 3:1 match or better to start out with.

If you get the technical manual you can get even more info. on manipulation of the hidden menu - be careful here.

It is a good idea to document each setting in the hidden menu - not all 450's will be the same in regards to these settings.

Join a Yahoo group on ft450 - lots of info.

73 David K1WJ
Logged
KF7OWG
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 12, 2012, 04:28:37 PM »

OK. I'll check out the yahoo thing. BTW, the menu choises I found that pertain to the tuner are:

     ATAS
     EXT ATU
     INT ATU
     INTRATU
     F TRANS

I set it for INTRATU and it seems to be working although it won't tune 160M or 6M but that may be a different deal. I don't know; this is the first radio I've had that is configured for 160 and 6.

Mark
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4747




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2012, 05:12:30 PM »

What antenna are you using that is broadbanded from 160 to 6? That is likely only a 3:1 tuner.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!