Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Will New Power Transistors End the Need for Tube Amplifiers in the Future?  (Read 22025 times)
K2ACB

Ignore
« on: January 22, 2012, 05:24:02 PM »

I am far from an expert on hf amplifiers. I have owned tube hf amplifiers and presently own a Tokyo Hy Power Solid  State amplifier.

I have been in touch with a radio amateur who is known for his prowess with innovative techniques in amateur radio including the use of solid state amplifiers. His experimental designs have been displayed at the Dayton hamvention.

This radio amateur who was very helpful to me with regard to a problem I had with my Tokyo Hy Power amplifier told me that he is now working on a prototype for a solid state amplifier using new power transistors from Motorola.

He told me this new transistor which is already on the market and can be purchased for around $270 a piece is the MRFEGVP1250. Each one of these transistors has an output of 1250 watts. Motorola also makes a similar transistor at 600 watts that is less expensive . It is the MRFEGVP600.

I do not know that much about transistor technology but he told me this transistor uses a new technology to get that much power. The transistors can be used from 160 meters to 6 meters as well as on the VHF and some UHF frequencies, However you cannot use them in an amp covering hf and vhf-uhf frequencies. You would need to build two seperate amplifiers,one for hf and another for VHF-UHF.

All it would take are two MRFEGVP1250 transistors to build a legal limit hf amplifier. You could always add more of these transistors to get a better IMD at the legal limit of 1500 watts for an hf amateur radio amplifier. I was also told that these are rugged transistors and you could keep them keyed down for some time as you can for some tube amplifiers like the alpha amplifiers.