Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 10 Meter antenna for hiking  (Read 6984 times)
K1MDA

Ignore
« on: January 29, 2012, 03:01:55 PM »

I really enjoy hitting the woods and hiking to a high spot, run up a roll up j-pole and make some contacts on 2-meters.

I am waiting to receive a new-to-me FT-817 and since i am only a tech and barely understand what CW means i'm would like to know what antenna people use for 10 meters in a hiking situation.

Ideally i would like something small and compact. Thanks in advance for any suggestions
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2012, 05:22:47 PM »

You can certainly use a J-pole:  the first one I built was for 15m.  I've also had good luck with dipoles.

Part of the choice will depend on where you go hiking.  I am usually among trees, so I don't bother
carrying my own antenna supports.  Those times I've been above treeline or on a beach I've made
use of rocks or whatever other supports were available.  If you expect to be in an area with no
trees or other natural supports, you'll have to bring something along with you.

The choice of supports will determine what antennas are practical to some extent.  A dipole
requires enough of a support to hold up the weight of the feedline and the wires, while for
a vertical it only needs to hold a thin wire.   If you have a support that goes to 20' then
an end-fed half wave vertical is practical, otherwise a quarter wave with two elevated
radials may be more practical.

How far you plan on hiking also makes a difference to the extent that it affects the weight
(and bulk) you are willing to carry.  The weight of the antenna and feedline is negligible
if you are using a wire dipole - mine are made from about #22 or #24 stranded, insulated
hookup wire, though you can go small to #28 or so if you want.  You'll need some string to