Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Motorola HT600 programming  (Read 11640 times)
KD2E
Member

Posts: 233




Ignore
« on: February 05, 2012, 01:37:32 PM »

My HT600 and P200 are programmed (by me) , but recently some PL tones were changed.
First....My old WANG pc lost its BIOS, and requires the floppy (unobtainium)
My NCR PC of similar vintage blew up its' power supply when I plugged it in.

In addition, my CD with the software on it seems to be blank.

HELP!!!    I remember I got the software from some Russian website around 2000 or so??

Can anyone tell me if that website is still up? 
I'll find a new (slow) DOS computer eventually, but not sure where to get that software again.
Thanks folks for any tips!!!
.....Dave
Logged
KD4LLA
Member

Posts: 462




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2012, 08:40:20 PM »

About six years ago I bought a Compaq Portable II (III, can't remember) off eBay ($100) to back up a Compaq computer we used at work for automation.  I booted it up a couple years back, funny how that DOS 6.0 still works.  I would keep my eye on eBay.  Some like me just collect old computers.  Now that I recall I got an old Toshiba laptop with Windows 3.1 on it too.  Anyway, it shouldn't be too hard to find an older machine, just a matter of your willingness to pay the price...

I have read that Moto software is picky, any chance of running a "virtual DOS machine" inside of Linux?  I know it would have to have real serial ports, and those motherboard/computers are hard to find also.

Mike
Logged
KD2E
Member

Posts: 233




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 06:16:09 AM »

Well, as I said...the WANG is no more...unless I flind that BIOS 5 1/4" floppy (unlikely).
The NCR machine has a dead PS.
I have an old IBM luggable, with an amber screen.
I didn't think it would work, 'cuz it isn't MSDOS...it is IBM's PCDOS.   Close, but not the same.
Surprise!!!   Found my software, copied it to floppy....and my HT is re-programmed!
I actually can't believe it worked!!   I better take care of that IBM if I want to keep the HT's !!!
Hooray!!!

.....Dave
Logged
VE7JWS
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 11:23:07 AM »

I got the programming software for my P200s and HT600 from that Russian website, and I imagine it's still there.  Lots of other good stuff in that massive download, such as the Kenwood TK-260 programming stuff I needed for a newly acquired old radio for use on APRS.
Logged
KB5ZSM
Member

Posts: 70




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2012, 11:23:26 PM »

Just a word of caution...  Even though you can run DOS 6.22 on a modern computer, programming the older Motorola radios requires a slow connection speed or internal damage to the radio may occur. A Motorola dealer/servicer friend of mine told me that once the radio has been damaged that it is unlikely to be worth repairing (if you can even get the parts anymore).
Logged
N1OFJ
Member

Posts: 18




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2012, 10:13:33 AM »

I am scratching my head trying to figure out exactly what this topic has to do with repeaters...portable programming questions belong in a different topic
Logged
KB4RIZ
Member

Posts: 6




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2012, 04:11:57 PM »

Fellas.  The RSS software is no longer supported by Motorola.  You can usually find a copy of it floating arund somewhere..don't know that I would trust the "Russian" site..but it might be worth a try.  I do have the RSS on a machine formerly owned by a Moto service tech.  He tossed it, and I got it..now...question IS it imperative to have a separate RIB box to get the software to pass the COM port test?  I could find a "ribless" version that has a battery connector on a wire coming from the serial plug..but it doesn't seem to work.  I can successfully program an HT1000 with this computer so I know the serial port works.  Do I. Need to get the RIB cable for the HT600 and attach that to the external RIB box for this to work?  I have a nice slow Toshiba 286 running MSDOS 6.2
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!