Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Dayton Hamvention 2012  (Read 21063 times)
AB1PJ

Ignore
« on: February 13, 2012, 10:34:45 AM »

Although the hamvention is 3 days, i wonder how many days should i plan on visiting?
Do i need all 3 days or is 2 days enough or is it just 1 day. I would like to cover the flea market as well.
Any suggestions?
KR4BD

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2012, 11:49:23 AM »

If you are physically able, I think a full day with the inside exhibits and another full day outside at the flea market should do it.  The best day for the flea market is Friday.  By mid-day Saturday, the flea market is often "depleated" or wiped out.  If you like attending the many outstanding seminars, you might need all three days and still not see it all!  I've been attending since 1975 and fortunately, most of the vendors are usually located at the same places each year, so pre-planning your visit can help if you know the layout. 

Also, there are many seminars that I always try to attend so I work my activities around them.   

Final Note:  Wear comfortable shoes!
AB1PJ

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 12:01:24 PM »

Ok,
Fri> Flea Mkt
Sat> Seminars (weekend will be packed)
Sun> Floor

Where may i find a list of seminars?
KR4BD

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2012, 07:01:36 PM »

You should keep an eye on the Dayton Hamvention website.  Not all the information is posted yet, but it will be frequently updated as we get closer.  The forums run all three days, so you will have to work around them, but as noted, the best day for the flea market is Friday.

Their website:

http://www.hamvention.org/

You should also book your hotel/motel early as the best places may already be filled.  Fortunately, one of my sons lives in suburban Dayton, so I have my lodging taken care of!