Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Ever Connected a David Clark Aircraft Headset to Transceiver?  (Read 5301 times)
N4GRF
Member

Posts: 18




Ignore
« on: February 19, 2012, 06:17:24 PM »

I have a David Clark H-10-56 headset from the days when I flew aircraft. The headset is an excellent piece of equipment, and I was wondering if any of you Elmer s knew how to connect it to a modern solid state transceiver. I recall that it requires some small voltage DC applied to the microphone circuit to power the mic amplifier module. I'm not sure how much. David Clark is not helpful on explicating their designs.

Most modern transceivers have 8v dc pins on the mic connector (Pin2 on the ICOM 756) which can provide the "phantom" power to the David Clark unit. I'm not certain the voltage requirements of the headset, and I thought of  inserting a small resistor in series with the DC to guard against damaging the amplifier module.  Anybody have a any experience with these headsets?

Kindest regards, and thanks, Tom N4GRF
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2752


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2012, 09:05:56 PM »

The David Clark headsets will operate with a 5-15VDC supply for the amplifier.  This is a possible circuit - use at your own risk.
http://www.kg4rul.info/DavidClarkAdapter.bmp
Logged
N4GRF
Member

Posts: 18




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2012, 02:36:38 AM »

Dennis: that was the one I was looking for.  Thank you so much. I couldn't recall the back-to-back electrolytics. Very best regards to you, Ann and KBIRD.

73, Tom Gallagher N4GRF (formerly of Charlotte NC).
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 166




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2012, 07:05:19 AM »

I just made up this circuit, using a Telex aircraft headset.  I get about 75mv ac at the mic plug.  Is this enough to drive a Drake T4x?  The manual only calls for a high Z mic, no mention of voltage level.  My T4x is down right now, and I can't test myself, just yet.
73's
Logged
VK2HLG
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2012, 09:48:34 PM »

Thanks, KG4RUL, for posting that schematic. I'm planning to build an adapter as well.

I'm pretty much a rookie at this, so please pardon some questions.

1. My headset is a David Clark H10-13.4S, which has a mono/stereo switch on its cable (which I believe affects only the earphones). As well, it has what appear to be four conductors on the microphone plug (the plug is a PJ-068 [.206-inch phone plug] type). This confuses me, because your schematic shows only three connections, and also because the only .206-inch plugs I can find show three connections as well. This drawing refers:

http://www.switchcraft.com/Drawings/S13B_CD.pdf

This is a photo of my headsets plugs. The microphone one is in the foreground:

http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm1/hazydavy99/DSC_0657.jpg

Can anyone explain how a four-conductor microphone plug corresponds to KG4RUL's schematic?

2. I tested the pins on the 8-pin microphone connector on my IC-7200 and found that pin 2 delivers 9 VDC, rather than the 8 VDC specified in its schematic.

This is okay, right? KG4RUL stated that the David Clarks want 5-15 VDC. Is that on the David Clark site somewhere?

Thanks.

VK2HLG
« Last Edit: March 18, 2012, 12:51:23 AM by VK2HLG » Logged
K0IZ
Member

Posts: 742




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2012, 05:29:13 AM »

QST, April 2010 Hints and Kinks for circuit that matches impedance and levels.
Logged
KG4RUL
Member

Posts: 2752


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 18, 2012, 08:47:07 PM »

Thanks, KG4RUL, for posting that schematic. I'm planning to build an adapter as well.

I'm pretty much a rookie at this, so please pardon some questions.

1. My headset is a David Clark H10-13.4S, which has a mono/stereo switch on its cable (which I believe affects only the earphones). As well, it has what appear to be four conductors on the microphone plug (the plug is a PJ-068 [.206-inch phone plug] type). This confuses me, because your schematic shows only three connections, and also because the only .206-inch plugs I can find show three connections as well. This drawing refers:

http://www.switchcraft.com/Drawings/S13B_CD.pdf

This is a photo of my headsets plugs. The microphone one is in the foreground:

http://i292.photobucket.com/albums/mm1/hazydavy99/DSC_0657.jpg

Can anyone explain how a four-conductor microphone plug corresponds to KG4RUL's schematic?

2. I tested the pins on the 8-pin microphone connector on my IC-7200 and found that pin 2 delivers 9 VDC, rather than the 8 VDC specified in its schematic.

This is okay, right? KG4RUL stated that the David Clarks want 5-15 VDC. Is that on the David Clark site somewhere?

Thanks.

VK2HLG

The specs for the David Clark H10-13.4S headset indicate:

Earphone Plug:    PJ-055 (.25" phone plug)    Mic Plug:    PJ-068 (.206" phone plug)

http://store.acousticom.com/aviation-connectors-pj-068pj-055

Both of which are three conductor plugs.  Could your four conductor plug be a replacement installed for a specialized application?  Though your photo seems to show a molded plug.
Logged
VK2HLG
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2012, 12:04:07 AM »

It definitely has four segments. I tested them with a continuity meter.

Though the unit is more than 10 years old, it's never been modified.

My guess is that one of the rings is not used. I will plug it into a standard PJ-068 jack and just use its outputs.
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 402




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 19, 2012, 06:38:56 AM »

http://www.aeroelectric.com/articles/micjack/micjack.html

Has a good picture & explanation of the mike plug's connections.

I'm guessing the unused conductor is there to prevent shorting (which could key the transmitter) when inserting and removing the connector.
Logged
KB4QAA
Member

Posts: 2488




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: March 19, 2012, 01:55:22 PM »

Yes, the extra segment is just a spacer.  It's standard aircraft plug that is also used in older ham transmitters.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!