Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Moving radio next to Imac  (Read 1847 times)
N6SBN
Member

Posts: 154


WWW

Ignore
« on: March 19, 2012, 09:53:20 AM »

  My dipole is at the back of the house.  The radios were below the antenna.  I'm going to add 50' of coax and move the radio and at to the front room, where the big desk and computer are.   I'll put the coax right on the ground to (hopefully) reduce RF.

  The house is a tiny beach cabin.  30 X 70' lot.  We get used to having everything small.

   Are there any design concerns that I should be aware of while moving my rig. I don't want RF to impact my IMac.   


  Thanks in advance.  Craig
« Last Edit: March 19, 2012, 09:55:48 AM by KF6BJW » Logged
WA3SKN
Member

Posts: 5486




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 11:54:41 AM »

Interference is complex.  Many possibilities, but the answer is to go ahead and move the eqpt, and then check for interference issues, then address them as needed.  The only way to guarantee no problems is to not turn on the eqpt!
73s.

-Mike.
Logged
WB4SPT
Member

Posts: 145




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 12:44:10 PM »

I have a 4 y/o iMac.  No issues being 20' below a inverted V, but I only tried 40 and 75m.
Logged
KB4QAA
Member

Posts: 2381




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2012, 01:38:39 PM »

I've never had troubles with computers and radios, except once or twice with minor overload on speakers which was easily solved.

Don't get too worried about a problem that doesn't exist yet.
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5689




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2012, 02:09:53 PM »

...I'll put the coax right on the ground to (hopefully) reduce RF....  Thanks in advance.  Craig

If you do have RF on the outside shield of the coax, that won't do much to alleviate the situation. 

A proper balun at the antenna feedpoint is the first - and proper - step for that kind of problem. 

First move the shack, then see if there are any problems for there may not be any.  Only cross bridges when a bridge actually appears in front of you, spend little time contemplating on unknown horror possibilities, is my advice at all times. 


73
Logged
N6SBN
Member

Posts: 154


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2012, 04:49:58 PM »

I gather I'm being overly cautious
Logged
K7KBN
Member

Posts: 2805




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2012, 05:15:53 PM »

Indeed.  It's pretty near impossible to predict what will or won't happen at your specific location under your specific conditions.  The only way to see what actually happens is to do it and find out. 
Logged

73
Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
ONAIR
Member

Posts: 1744




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2012, 06:55:40 PM »

My Imac seems to slightly reduce the sensitivity of my 2 meter rig when it is on.  The rig is about 4 feet from the computer.  It also seems to knock down the receive signal on one of my TVs, which is hooked to an indoor DTV antenna.  Not really sure why this happens. 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!