Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HF Base Transceiver or All-Band Radio?  (Read 3763 times)
KG6SII

Ignore
« on: April 08, 2012, 04:54:08 PM »

I am rather new to HF, but have worked SSB and digital modes from home.  My old radio has an intermittent problem, so I'm looking to buy a new, modern radio.

I will use it 90% as a base-station, 5-10% mobile in my truck, and 5% portable (camping, house-boating, etc.).  Would you recommend I get the FT-857D all-band radio, which lacks IF DSP and other refinements, or get one of the 160m-6m base-station transceivers, such as the FT-450D, TS-590, or TS-2000?

I already have several VHF/UHF radios, and a manual antenna tuner. I enjoy feeding balanced line for my base station (for multi-banding), and may use it for portable use as well.  It seems the main differences are:  physical size/weight, IF DSP features, and built-in antenna tuners.  So just how much better is the Rx/Tx audio with the base rigs?  Can you really pull out weak signals much better?  Will any of these base radios with built-in tuners work with balanced feedline?

Thanks in advance,
Glenn J.
KG6SII
W8JX

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 05:18:28 PM »

The 857 is not a bad mobile and semi portable rig, but as a primary base station, it lacks size and thermal mass to deal with high duty cycles at max or near max power and can get quite hot as it still has to dissipate the same amount of heat as a bigger rig.  A larger rig will cool better under such duty. You might look at a Kenwood TS-480. It is larger than a 857 but smaller than a 897 and regular base rigs. It has a very good cooling system and can be had in a 100watt model with a built in tuner and a 200 watt model without a built in tuner.

--------------------------------------
Entered using a  WiFi Win 8.1 RT tablet or a Android tablet using 4G/LTE or WiFi.
N4NYY

Ignore