Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TK-981 troubleshooting  (Read 3904 times)
K4NBC
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« on: January 11, 2012, 06:55:30 AM »

Ok, here is my problem, I have the Kenwood TK-981 version 2 900mhz mobile it works great and functions great, but here is my problem.

ok, when I turn on the power supply the radio turns on automatically then within 3 minutes it shuts off , then when I try to press the radios power button to get it to turn on I keep pressing and nothing happens, then I have to shut down the power supply then switch it on and the radio turns on.  Then if I press the on/off button I can turn it off, but I can't turn it back up unless I shut down the power supply and turn it back on again.

I know that the radios like motorola and kenwood they have now instead of fuses they have resistors, I need to find out if this is the case that a resistor went bad and its a matter of replacing it.

So any help would be appreciated

73

miguel-ad4y
Logged
K6LCS
Member

Posts: 1993


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2012, 07:06:42 AM »

When it powers up, do you hear the 1477Hz tone for about a half-second?

Is there any chance it is trying to power up in CLONE mode?
Logged

Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.work-sat.com
K4NBC
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2012, 04:21:54 PM »

When it powers up, do you hear the 1477Hz tone for about a half-second?

Is there any chance it is trying to power up in CLONE mode?

Hello, Clint thanks for the reply

yes, it does the 1477hz tone and the radio  stays on.   but just in case, in the software do I uncheck the clone box maybe that could be it or it has no effect.

thanks

73

miguel-ad4y
Logged
K6LCS
Member

Posts: 1993


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2012, 08:06:06 PM »

If the radio is in CLONE mode, it is "expecting" to communicate with another unit - to clone themselves. If nothing connects to clone, then maybe that 3-minute timing is the original (your) radio timing out.

Un-check "Clone." Absolutely.

Clint
Logged

Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.work-sat.com
K4NBC
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2012, 01:10:56 PM »

If the radio is in CLONE mode, it is "expecting" to communicate with another unit - to clone themselves. If nothing connects to clone, then maybe that 3-minute timing is the original (your) radio timing out.

Un-check "Clone." Absolutely.

Clint

Ok, I uncheck the clone, firmware and still having the same problem, so I do not know if its the front face panel or the ribbon or somehting is causing the problem.

miguel-ad4y
Logged
K6LCS
Member

Posts: 1993


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 15, 2012, 01:29:52 PM »

Darn. I *thought* I was having a good weekend ... (grin)

1. Did it ever work correctly?

2. Search the Web for the service manual, and see how to "reset" the rig. (Sorry - you probably already did that.)

Other than that, I am outta info. I would walk it into my local Motorola/Kenwood commercial dealer and buy the tech a cup of coffee and see what he/she recommends.

Clint
909-241-7666
Logged

Clint Bradford, K6LCS
http://www.work-sat.com
K4NBC
Member

Posts: 1




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2012, 06:42:16 AM »

Darn. I *thought* I was having a good weekend ... (grin)

1. Did it ever work correctly?

2. Search the Web for the service manual, and see how to "reset" the rig. (Sorry - you probably already did that.)

Other than that, I am outta info. I would walk it into my local Motorola/Kenwood commercial dealer and buy the tech a cup of coffee and see what he/she recommends.

Clint
909-241-7666

No problem Clint thanks for the help, i might have to find out if there is a firmware update and yes I had a reset done and still the same, oh well  I get something figure out...
73

miguel-ad4y

Logged
K9MHZ
Member

Posts: 1443




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2012, 04:50:53 PM »

Hey Miguel,

Sorry this reply is months after your original post.  Anyway, we had a guy locally who had the same problem, and eventually the radio just died and he couldn't turn it on at all.  Turns out, it was the switching transistor that gets forward biased when you push the power button that went bad.  I wasn't part of the fix, but I did hear that the replacement transistor wasn't too big of a deal to replace.

Good luck,

Brad, K9MHZ

 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!