Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: The Best CW Transceiver?  (Read 42471 times)
VR2WAR

Ignore
« on: April 26, 2012, 06:59:50 AM »

Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum.  I would like to ask you guys opinion about which is the best CW transceiver (Tube and modern included).  Thanks.

VR2WAR
Kam
N2EY

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2012, 07:12:16 AM »

Best in what way(s)?

73 de Jim, N2EY
VR2WAR

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2012, 07:28:40 AM »

Hi Jim,

I am very new in CW.  Actually I don't know what to look for and hence the question.  I have Collins KWM-2a.  People say it is not a real CW machine.  I am looking at buying a proper setup.  Tube or modern doesn't matter but all other being equal, I prefer tube.

Thank you for your help.

Kam 
NK6Q

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2012, 07:45:20 AM »

I was in the same boat as you when I returned to the airwaves about 2 years ago.  I wanted a tube rig- I wanted to get a bit of the experience I had as a kid in the mid-sixties and smell those tubes cooking in the shack.  Also, I'm a CW only op.

After some internet research, I decided to go with the Drake TR4Cw.  I later picked up an RV-4C remote VFO, so I can work split-frequency.  I have a pair of Drake B-Twins currently out for service that I'm anxious to try on-air.

For a more modern CW rig, the reviews of the Ten Tec Omni 6+ are pretty glowing, as are the Elecraft rigs.  Check out the Reviews section of this website.  You'll get a lot of info there.

Bill in Pasadena
NK6Q
N5RWJ

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2012, 08:12:29 AM »

Look at any Ten-Tec used gear. www.tentec.com
PA0BLAH

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2012, 09:12:25 AM »

Of course you are asking what will be the best tranceiver for YOU, not for other people.