Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: IC-746 No Sound When Powered On  (Read 7407 times)
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4818




Ignore
« Reply #15 on: May 25, 2012, 06:45:55 PM »

Turning the rig off and on via the supply is the only way I've used mine for nearly 10 years now without issue.

What kind of supply is it?


Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM

The first time I did that by accident, I blew out my backlight.
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3928




Ignore
« Reply #16 on: May 25, 2012, 07:24:37 PM »

...and the radio was damaged, too.





 Grin
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #17 on: May 26, 2012, 05:06:11 AM »

I think if I leave my power supply on, the radio acts fine.

If I cut the power supply off for 30 seconds or so, when I turn the rig on there's no audio out of the speaker. Turning just the radio off and back on solves the problem.

If I cut the power supply off for longer, like if I leave the room or overnight or whatever, when I turn the rig on all of the lights are lit and the screen never shows any text. Turning just the radio off and back on solves the problem.

Anyone?
Logged
K7MH
Member

Posts: 344




Ignore
« Reply #18 on: May 26, 2012, 10:58:35 AM »

I would try a different power supply and see what happens. It seems to me that would be one of the first steps in troubleshooting it.
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3928




Ignore
« Reply #19 on: May 26, 2012, 01:10:35 PM »

Turning just the radio off and back on solves the problem.

I'm wondering if there's a hint of quick-finger syndrome at play here... Like, your power supply needs a moment or two to settle into its groove and the radio doesn't like seeing un-groovy power when you're a little quick on its power switch.

Just for grins, try turning on the power supply first.... Count to 10.807653 seconds.... Then turn on the radio.
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
KA1MDA
Member

Posts: 543




Ignore
« Reply #20 on: May 27, 2012, 11:16:40 AM »

The first time I did that by accident, I blew out my backlight.

The backlight circuit in the 746 is a POS design. The backlight would have probably crapped out any way.. just a coincidence it crapped out at that moment. There are only 2 types of backlight inverters used in Icom 746's- those that have faied, and those that will fail.
Logged
N4NYY
Member

Posts: 4818




Ignore
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2012, 09:47:31 AM »

The first time I did that by accident, I blew out my backlight.

The backlight circuit in the 746 is a POS design. The backlight would have probably crapped out any way.. just a coincidence it crapped out at that moment. There are only 2 types of backlight inverters used in Icom 746's- those that have faied, and those that will fail.

That is why I have an FT-950 now. I can tell you this, with LCD displays this cheap, I am surprised that aftermarket replacements for those Icom radio displays have not been designed my someone.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2012, 10:44:06 AM »

I'm still looking for ideas if anyone can help. Thank you.
Logged
KQ6Q
Member

Posts: 991




Ignore
« Reply #23 on: June 01, 2012, 12:07:55 PM »

Is your MFJ supply an Linear supply (heavy with a transformer) or a switcher ?
FWIW - I have a 746Pro and when I bought it new, the factory PS-125 switcher (Icom brand)
came at no extra charge.  Perhaps there had been issues with other power supplies, and they decided to start providing a compatible unit free with the original purchase.
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4522


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #24 on: June 04, 2012, 06:14:41 AM »

I'm still looking for ideas if anyone can help. Thank you.

Do you have, or have access to an oscilloscope?


Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM


Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #25 on: June 04, 2012, 03:53:05 PM »

K5LXP, no I do not.

KQ6Q, it is a switching power supply. I have never seen any issues with it with any other radios. Maybe there's a problem with some 746's and some power supplies?


Any help is appreciated.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #26 on: June 18, 2012, 11:12:52 AM »

Anyone else ever seen this problem or have an idea of what the problem is?
Logged
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!