Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How Close is Too Close?  (Read 1245 times)
KD8FYK
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« on: June 17, 2012, 12:12:12 PM »

Wanting to put a dipole up, but where I want to put it will put it within about 25 ft of a transformer on a telephone pole. Is this too close? Will I have too much noise from the transformer? What would be an acceptable distance if 25 ft. is too close? I never had to worry before at the old QTH as the electric was all underground. Any help is appreciated....73's Dave
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6038




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2012, 01:58:21 PM »

I would say try it and see how it plays. The transformer itself really make no RFI unless it is malfunctioning. It is the power wires to and from it that act as a antenna for RFI generating devices attached to them.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
KD0REQ
Member

Posts: 971




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2012, 02:35:14 PM »

tip:  if your antenna system falls towards the transformer and 3300 volt local service high-line, it should be at a height that falls short of the oopsie by a couple feet.
Logged
W1JKA
Member

Posts: 1763




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2012, 04:50:38 PM »

       One end of my 40m dipole is about 20 ft. away from telephone pole transformer and about 10 ft. below it. Works fine and no noise at my qth.No ill efects from the power lines either.
Logged
W0BTU
Member

Posts: 1703


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2012, 08:10:37 PM »

The transformer itself really makes no RFI unless it is malfunctioning.

Precisely.

Transformers get all the blame, when it is actually all the other stuff on top of the power poles that are the real culprits.
Logged

KD8FYK
Member

Posts: 2




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: June 18, 2012, 12:47:25 PM »

O.K. Thanks for all the input......I will give it a try and see how it goes! 73's Dave
Logged
KD2CJJ
Member

Posts: 369




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2012, 07:12:41 AM »

I am very interested in your findings... I am in the same situation...

To the west of me (along back of house/property line) high power lines... to the south of me wire that connects to my house... at the intersection of both there is a transformer I would be 20 feet from the transformer and high power lines and 10 feet from the powerline coming into my house..

I have a really really bad area for antennas...
Logged

73

Mike
KD2CJJ
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!