Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Too fast!  (Read 1146 times)
KQ6UP

Ignore
« on: May 24, 2007, 08:32:31 PM »

I am a high speed CW newbie.  I have just taken a couple of months with G4FON to get up to about 20WPM.  At that speed, I am at the bleeding edge of my copy speed.  I can't stand it when I call cq and someone comes back blazing at 30wpm.  I don't understand.  Should I always call cq at slower speeds, but then I am not pushing myself.  I do fine on the computer, but at 20wpm on the air I can copy RST, Name, and sometimes QTH.  If they come back faster, I'm lost.  It's a little discouraging for the newcomer (esp. the bad fists that come back to a cq).

Just a little whine with my cheese ;o)

Chris KQ6UP
VA7CPC

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2007, 11:23:04 PM »

You expect _everyone_ to be courteous and considerate??? <g>   Just like on the roads, some people are, some not.

I'd suggest sending CQ at a speed where you could copy _everything_, and then getting faster _by agreement_ with the other op.

FWIW, there are three CW contests this weekend.  If you want "short burst" practice at high speed, that's a good way to get it.

You might also try "RufZXP", a very neat "callsign-copying" game / practice program for PC's.  It's up on the Web, free.

Charles
KQ6UP

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2007, 06:19:32 AM »

It has happened to me a couple of times were the other opp will just abandon the qso (without even signing) at the request to QRS.

That is RUDE (especially when I was sending much slower to begin with).

Chris KQ6UP
NG0K

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2007, 07:03:08 AM »

Ragchewing is harder to copy than perfectly sent computer code.   For example I can copy DX and contests exchanges up to 30wpm, but in a friendly ragchew I have to slow way down to about 15wpm.