Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TS-2000 with multiple issues, any help?  (Read 4161 times)
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« on: August 02, 2012, 10:24:04 AM »

Hi all, I bought a TS-2000 that I just received, it's a VERY early model, serial
# 20XXXXXX and out of the box it has multiple issues. I e-mailed Clif at Avvid,
he is the absolute guru of Kenwood radios and a great guy, I asked his advice.
He of course responded immediately as he always does, thought it MAY be the
EEPROM but of course without seeing he can not be sure so I am asking if anyone
has ever had or seen a TS-2000 with these issues:

a) Radio has ZERO output ALL bands, all modes
b) S meter does not move at all under ANY circumstances
c) Radio will not hold memory, resets when turned off then on (not the battery)
d) When you hook up a power supply to the radio it will turn on every time
WITHOUT pushing in the power button on the front panel.

Yes, hard reset has been done a number of times.

Any help out there?

Thanks,

Adam Faber W4AJF
Woodland Hills, CA
adamf@eeco.com
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9910




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2012, 10:49:55 AM »

I would suspect the internal memory battery first, radios do all kinds of weird stuff when battery dies.  I'm just saying,... and its a cheap place to start trouble shooting.
Logged
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2012, 11:00:55 AM »

Hi, that's not it, I mentioned that already. Thanks, Adam W4AJF
Logged
HB9PJT
Member

Posts: 272


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2012, 11:51:42 AM »

You did probably already a general reset?

73, Peter - HB9PJT
Logged
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2012, 11:53:43 AM »

Yes, that of course is mentioned in my post as well. Thanks, Adam W4AJF
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6030




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2012, 12:02:57 PM »

Did you change or check back battery?
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2012, 12:08:21 PM »

Hi, even though the battery would have nothing to do with the output or S meter I am curious, what is a "back battery" please?  Adam W4AJF
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6030




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2012, 12:21:02 PM »

Hi, even though the battery would have nothing to do with the output or S meter I am curious, what is a "back battery" please?  Adam W4AJF

Rigs that use them (and I believe 2000 does) keeps working memory intact when power is off. When you turn rig on it "boots" from a static Eprom. If Eprom is corrupt too rig can do all kinda of strange things.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2012, 12:56:16 PM »

Hi, yes, I already mentioned it was NOT the battery. Thanks, Adam W4AJF
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5689




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2012, 01:04:46 PM »

I would be looking for a bad logic gate in the bootup routine chips first.



73
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6030




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2012, 04:51:39 PM »

Is it possible to try re-flashing the rigs firmware in case it is corrupted?
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W4AJF
Member

Posts: 262




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2012, 05:29:44 PM »

Hi, good question, I had thought about that, it may have to come to that, thanks for a good post!  Adam W4AJF
Logged
KB2CPW
Member

Posts: 304




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2012, 01:14:47 PM »

Looking at the symptoms, its definitely corrupt. Remove the battery and let it sit. While that's happening make sure your replacement battery is actually good. Ive had new ones that were bad out of the package. Try a reflash of the firmware. But if anything anyone has offered up doesnt work, then suspect the eeprom or CPU. Some CPUs store parameters in internal eeprom as well. My guess is that, or somewhere around these two Devices is a bad cap or cold solder joint.
Logged
HB9PJT
Member

Posts: 272


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2012, 01:22:16 PM »

The only battery in the TS-2000 is for the TNC. Otherwise the rig does not have a battery. Removing the TNC-battery does not help.

73, Peter - HB9PJT
Logged
KB5ZSM
Member

Posts: 70




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: August 04, 2012, 02:28:32 PM »

I found your comment about turning on by itself with the power supply interesting. Have you checked the radios internal power supplies to make sure they are correct and regulating?
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!