Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hughes PRC-104- new ham user  (Read 4064 times)
VIPER21700

Ignore
« on: August 12, 2012, 07:41:45 AM »

Good morning gents,
 First to start off with, Im a new operator, waiting for my callsign to show in the ULS (took my exam and passed technician yesterday, missed general by two questions) Ive been doing radio work for the Navy and Marine corps for 12 years now.
Ok my question is this- I have an old Hughes PRC-104 HF field radio, works great (Ive hooked it up to our test equipment Ive got at work, passed all the maintanance checks I could find)
Are these radios good for the amatuer operator? Ive used them before, but since Im new to the amatuer world, what do you guys think?
I know most new operators start out with VHF/UHF HT's, but Im alot more comfortable with good old fashioned HF lol.
Thanks
Mike
G3RZP

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 07:55:21 AM »

Just bear in mind that the PRC104 uses a number of integrated circuits that were manufactured by Plessey Semiconductors in the UK until 1996, and they are no longer available. Even the company called Plessey Semiconductors - which is a totally different company - doesn't have the designs any more. A few of the parts are in various stockists, provided you have access to Fort Knox, because that's what you'll need to buy them! Beware any offers of those parts from the Far East.

I was the Applications Engineer for those parts......

For ham use, the real problem is that it's not easy to tune the band with that form of synthesiser.

Peter G3RZP
W9GB

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2012, 09:46:40 AM »

USA Amateur Radio Feequency Allocations
COLOR BAND PLAN CHART, AARL
http://www.arrl.org/files/file/Hambands_color.pdf

As a Technician class, HF phone usage is limited to 10 meters.
 You also have RTTY and data privileges on 10 meters.