Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: SAT?  (Read 20267 times)
N5TEN

Ignore
« on: August 20, 2012, 09:46:24 AM »

Anyone know what this SAT pair is?  Uplink 145.850 FM Downlink 436.875 FM

Right now I'm hitting it by pointing my antennas due west from my QTH in No. Calif. I can't find this exact pair anywhere on AMSAT yet, so I sent them an email. I'm very new to this SAT thing, so forgive me if I'm missing something about it.

Thanks
N5TEN/AE
WD9EWK

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 04:46:01 PM »

Anyone know what this SAT pair is?  Uplink 145.850 FM Downlink 436.875 FM

Right now I'm hitting it by pointing my antennas due west from my QTH in No. Calif. I can't find this exact pair anywhere on AMSAT yet, so I sent them an email. I'm very new to this SAT thing, so forgive me if I'm missing something about it.

The 145.850 MHz uplink is used by two satellites, AO-27 and SO-50.  The downlink for these two satellites is around 436.795 MHz +/- for Doppler.  You would need to transmit with a 67.0 Hz tone to be heard through SO-50, and AO-27 does not require a PL tone.

73!

Patrick WD9EWK/VA7EWK
http://www.wd9ewk.net/
N5TEN

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2012, 05:41:24 PM »

Hey thanks for coming back to me, but I'm really trying to get to the bottom of this frequency pair.  I have a basic understanding of sat operations, the PL enable/operation with SO-50, and I'm able to track the AO-27. This doesn't seem to be either sat.

Anyone know what pair this could possibly be? Can either of these sats reflect my TX without a PL enable, or tracking up with down/up links and just the pair: 436.875 downlink and 145.850 downlink?

KQ6EA

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2012, 08:51:11 PM »

Satellites don't "reflect" your signal. They repeat it. SO-50 needs two PL tones; one to enable the timer onboard, and a second to pass your uplink signal.