Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: amp quesrion  (Read 1677 times)
N1BIL
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« on: August 21, 2012, 11:32:35 AM »

I have a Yeasu FT-450 and want to know what amps will not work with the rig and why? Are there any recommended amps for this rig?
Logged
K7KBN
Member

Posts: 2813




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2012, 11:46:52 AM »

I don't know of ANY amplifier that will work with a "Yeasu".
Logged

73
Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
VE3FMC
Member

Posts: 987


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2012, 12:10:15 PM »

I have a Yeasu FT-450 and want to know what amps will not work with the rig and why? Are there any recommended amps for this rig?

Any HF amp should work with the FT-450. However you need to make sure that the keying relay voltage is low enough for the radio to handle.

Most of the older amps, such as a Heathkit SB-200 or SB-220 have higher relay voltages than the radio will be able to handle.

Now that is not a big problem as long as you use a keying relay between the rig and the amp. Or in the case of the Heathkit amps you can do the Harbach mod that lowers the keying voltage to a level that modern rigs can handle.

I have used an older SB-200 with my FT-950 but the amp had the Harbach keying relay mod done to it.
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 2028




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2012, 09:48:36 PM »

The FT-450 is a HF/6m rig with 100 watts, 25 watts AM output. If you check your manual you'll find this in the specs. Exactly these are the limiting conditions for your amplifier. It got to be able to handle this. Any amplifier outside these data will not be usable. As a sample, any 144 MHz amp will not help you.
Logged
KB3HG
Member

Posts: 404




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2012, 09:07:19 AM »

Real simple, look in the manual should show you the way Yeasu connects to an amplifier. At leas the two manuals of different Yaesu HF radios that I have do. It should have a interface that you hook up between the radio and amp. Google it, you will get more information than you want and specific to your model.  Enjoy

Tom Kb3hg
Logged
KG4NEL
Member

Posts: 373




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2012, 09:53:20 AM »

I don't know of ANY amplifier that will work with a "Yeasu".

C'mon, you've never fat-fingered while typing?  Tongue Rough crowd...

'VSG - what kind of operating do you do, mostly? Amp selection depends on factors like:

- Do you need 160m? Not every amp covers Top Band.
- Do you operate CW, and need QSK?
- 120VAC or 220VAC to the shack? Not having 220 will limit your selections.
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9910




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2012, 12:07:46 PM »

If you get an external, like I think it is a MFJ 704  keying relay, you can use it for any amp.  this hooks up on the amp keying output ( also call keying or linear relay) on the radio, and it isolates the rely line from the amp back to the radio, regardless of parameters.
Logged
K7KBN
Member

Posts: 2813




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 23, 2012, 02:07:52 PM »

I don't know of ANY amplifier that will work with a "Yeasu".

C'mon, you've never fat-fingered while typing?  Tongue Rough crowd...

'VSG - what kind of operating do you do, mostly? Amp selection depends on factors like:

- Do you need 160m? Not every amp covers Top Band.
- Do you operate CW, and need QSK?
- 120VAC or 220VAC to the shack? Not having 220 will limit your selections.

Once in a while.

But I CAN read the word "YAESU" off the front of the radio.  It doesn't say "YEASU".
Logged

73
Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
KB1LKR
Member

Posts: 1898




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2012, 05:25:24 PM »

But I have to look at the keys when I type Sad
Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3891




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: August 24, 2012, 05:38:56 PM »


If I had a Yeasu I think I'd use it with a diploe antenna.

Both seem to be popular on eHam.

 Grin
Logged

Never change a password on a Friday                
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!