Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Without digipeater can a VX-8DR to VX-8DR send and receive APRS data?  (Read 3946 times)
NL7SX
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« on: August 25, 2012, 09:35:10 PM »

I want to do some close in tracking and wonder if a VX-8DR can pass aprs information to another VX-8DR?
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 870


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2012, 04:30:04 AM »

1) APRS is a simplex mode. In simplex mode, stations talk directly to each other.
2) The APRS digipeater is the same as a parrot. It speaks what you send to it. It doesn't communicate.
3) Any APRS station in range of your HT would be able to receive it, no matter if it is a digi, a base, mobile, or HT.
Logged
KJ4RHB
Member

Posts: 5




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2012, 05:06:42 AM »

Yes, most definitely!
Logged
NL7SX
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2012, 11:22:12 AM »

Thanks...now I'm going guess at what is required for a mobile 2-way APRS station.
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 386




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 06:31:50 AM »

Thanks...now I'm going guess at what is required for a mobile 2-way APRS station.
A radio, a GPS, and a TNC. I've used the gear made by Argent Data Systems and Byonics to run mobile APRS stations and digipeaters.
Logged
NL7SX
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2012, 09:23:25 PM »

I was referring to my other message. http://www.eham.net/ehamforum/smf/index.php/topic,84956.0.html

so the answer is: 2 computers/displays, 2 APRS transceivers (computer compatible), 2 sets of imagery software, and the usage of these in a mobile environment. Without the computers/displays it will still work but is not so friendly as in my opinion just distance and direction limit efficiency.
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 386




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 28, 2012, 10:30:43 PM »

That's one way.

The way I ran it in my car was to have a Garmin NUVI 350 connected to the Argent Data Systems tracker connected to the radio. The Nuvi displays the stations and provides the location for the beacon.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!