Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: APRS for windows/soundcard  (Read 8628 times)
KA4NMA
Member

Posts: 354




Ignore
« on: August 28, 2012, 07:02:47 PM »

What is a good packet program that I can use for aprs and a tigertronics signalink usb.
Randy ka4nma
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 398




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2012, 10:33:39 PM »

AGWPE

http://www.sv2agw.com/downloads/
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 890


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2012, 04:27:00 AM »

First of all, APRS & Packet are 2 separate modes, and thus require separate softwares. Also, you cannot run both at the same time with only one radio and Signalink.

I concur with AGWPE to operate the Signalink. It makes the Siganlink operate as a virtual TNC. But, you will need additional software for APRS & Packet. Suggestions are UI-View32 for APRS, and Outpost Packet Message Manager for Packet. I am going to provide several links below, but you are going to have to go through a reading and learning process, because setup is not for the faint of heart.

AGWPE - http://www.sv2agw.com/downloads/

Sound Card Packet - http://www.soundcardpacket.org/ (A setup guide.)

UI-View32 - http://www.apritch.myby.co.uk/uiv32_uiview32.php?lang=english

UI-View32 set up notes and modifications - http://www.wa8lmf.net/aprs/UIview_Notes.htm (UI-View32 needs several things done to "moderize" it, read very carefully!)

Outpost Packet Message Manager - http://www.outpostpm.org/ (Download and setup info.)

Good luck!
Logged
K7RBW
Member

Posts: 398




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2012, 06:56:16 AM »

...because setup is not for the faint of heart.

...

Good luck!

That should probably be underlined and in bold print.
Smiley
Logged
KA4NMA
Member

Posts: 354




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2012, 05:02:13 PM »

My mistake.  I meant APRS, not packet.
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 890


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2012, 04:24:56 AM »

Just use the top 4 links in my post above. Like I said, read, read, read.
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12980




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2012, 09:46:25 AM »

APRS actually uses packet radio. It uses the unproto type of packet, the same type of packet used to call CQ in regular packet radio. This was done so that standard TNCs (either hardware or now software) could be used for APRS.

The application software is different (a terminal program for keyboard text or a APRS program to generate and display GPS positions), but the Terminal Node Controller is the same.
Logged
KZ9G
Member

Posts: 36




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2012, 02:38:30 PM »

Look at aprsisce32. http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/. Honestly it replaces ui-view32. It is still being updated and you don't need to jump through flaming hoops to get workable maps.
Logged
K2CMH
Member

Posts: 278




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: September 07, 2012, 11:50:19 AM »

>Look at aprsisce32. http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/.

Second that...ui-view32 will do nothing but fall more and more behind until it reaches the point where it will not run...thanks in no small part to the author deciding the nice thing to do would be to have the source code destroyed upon his death so that the program could not be enhanced or maintained...
Logged
NA4IT
Member

Posts: 890


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #9 on: September 07, 2012, 12:56:53 PM »

">Look at aprsisce32. http://aprsisce.wikidot.com/."

I agree. It's just that APRSISCE has a lot of "internet" dependent functions. Such as maps.

Correct me if I am wrong...
Logged
W5LZ
Member

Posts: 477




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2012, 07:10:51 AM »

NA4IT,
You aren't 'wrong', but after the initial download of the maps, an internet connection isn't required.  I use APRSIS32 strictly in an RF environment, no internet connection.  It does just fine.  You can turn that connection 'on/off' at will.  That does mean that there will be some features that can't be used, but in a lot of cases those features aren't necessary.  Depends entirely on why you use it, right?
 - 'Doc
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!