Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Where to call CQ? (QRS)  (Read 555 times)
K9JH

Ignore
« on: April 18, 2008, 08:06:13 AM »

I am new to CW and trying to make one QSO a night right now.  I am an extra class, but staying in the technician bands to find slow ops like me!

What is etiquette on the bands?  I usally hear most activity at the bottom of the band with the top of the band being quiet.  Is it it more polite for the slower ops to be higher in the band?

How about band choice?  I have been trying 80m and 40m because they have technician bands?  Would 160m and 30m be a place for a beginner?

Thanks for the help.

K9JH
James
NG0K

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 08:55:36 AM »

You can call CQ anywhere at slower speeds and get a lot of calls.  But the speeds generally decrease as you go higher in the band.   I ragchew around 15wpm most of the time and generally stay around 40khz to 60khz up from the bottom of the bands except for 30m.

73, Doug

73, Doug - NG0K
N3QE

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2008, 09:06:12 AM »

30, 40, 50 kc from the bottom of the band you'll find somebody to work. You might accidentally pick a net frequency and get chastised for QRM'ing there, but usually they'll be polite about telling you to move off. There are "QRP calling frequencies" in there were there are folks very regularly listening (even if they aren't talking). The QRP'ers are generally very good operators and will slow down to work you, and if you pick up their operating habits you will very much come out ahead in terms of skills.

Certain chunks of 40M don't get as much use as you'd think, especially in the evenings, because at least here on the East Coast of the US there's intense QRM from SW broadcasters and SW pirates there. You might not hear them as much in 9-land, and they might not matter at all further west.