Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New Ham; question on call signs  (Read 8107 times)
K8ASY

Ignore
« on: October 03, 2012, 09:32:19 PM »

Hi everyone - Just got my General license. An intro, and then a couple quick questions:

My Dad, and his dad, were both hams way back when. When I was young – 35 or 40 years ago – I was interested as well, and I studied for the Novice exam (even learned 5WPM code, tuning in to W1AW every night to practice). But my dad was inactive at the time, and couldn’t get any of his xmitters working, so in the end I never bothered to take the exam. Fast forward to now: I needed a Tech license in order to operate a video transmitter, and maybe some APRS stuff, for some hobby interests of mine. I took and passed the Tech and General tests the same day, and got my ticket. I don’t know how much I’ll be on-air on phone, as I am mostly interested in the video/digital stuff, but I did pick up an inexpensive dual-band HT, so we’ll see.

Question:  I thought it might be nice to take my Dad’s 1X3 call in remembrance of him. Though he passed away many years ago, his call is still available, and it looks like I could easily grab it using the ‘close relative’ provision. However, I’m operating in the US region 7, but my Dad’s call sign is region 8 – all the way across the country. Will it be odd/inconvenient/confusing or frowned upon to operate in region 7 with a region 8 callsign? Will I have to explain to every local contact that I’m not a DX? I’m a newbie here, and so trying to avoid newbie mistakes.

Also, my grandfather was a ham - I have fond memories of visiting him in his shack – and I’m trying to find his call sign. He doesn’t seem to be in the ULS, I’m guessing because he passed away in ~1964, and I suppose the system doesn’t go back that far. Is there some other way to get info on licenses that old?

Thanks,

Kelly
KF7YMG
W3HF

Ignore