Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: help with mc for ts-430  (Read 2584 times)
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« on: October 25, 2012, 12:54:11 AM »

please if some one could help me ?  When I push the ptt on the mic nothing happens, no transmit, nothing.  When I use the vox the radio seems to transmit,IE, the transmit light comes on.  Same when I use the send button on the transceiver. I would appreciate guidance in where to start?  thank you
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 1978




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2012, 01:11:20 AM »

Could be a bad connection. Pull the plug out and reseat it. You also could measure the ptt coming from the microphone if it does actually close contact with an ohm meter.
Logged
W9GB
Member

Posts: 2622




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2012, 05:00:00 AM »

Sounds like a broken wire on microphone OR bad PTT switch in microphone body.

Diagnosis requires common steps and shop sense.
Your bench VOM or DVM using continuity test can confirms PTT wires are non-functional.
Then opening microphone body to visually examine and use DVM to test PTT.
IF that is OK, then issue is cord itself or the 8-pin Foster plug.

w9gb
Logged
KK7KZ
Member

Posts: 464




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2012, 12:10:19 PM »

What mic? Factory supplied Kenwood mic or an adapted other brand?
Logged
STAYVERTICAL
Member

Posts: 864




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2012, 12:48:34 PM »

The following diagnosis is based on some ASSUMPTIONS:

THESE ARE:

1. Vox and the panel-SEND switch enable transmit - AND the rig is sending a voice SSB signal.
2. You are using the factory supplied microphone, or one which was previously working.



IF those are both true, you have a broken PTT connection inside your microphone or it's lead.
The PTT on the front panel 8 pin plug is made by shorting two pins (the manual shows which).
These pins are not being shorted.

Possible culprits:

1. PTT Wire broken inside its insulation due to repetitive strain.
2. PTT Wire broken at the 8 pin plug which plugs into the transceiver.
3. PTT Wire broken at the microphone end.
4. Faulty PTT switch.

To test the switch and cabling:

* Look up the manual and find which two pins on the 8 pin plug are the PTT lines. (on the microphone lead - NOT the 430 )
  With a multimeter on resistance setting - check these two pins while pressing the PTT button - it should short and unshort.
  If you have the correct pins, and it does not show a short when you press PTT, there is a problem in the lead/microphone.

* IF it does short/unshort as you press and release PTT, then the problem is on the 8 pin panel socket or further in the transceiver.

Good luck, 73 - Rob
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 12:53:04 PM by STAYVERTICAL » Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2012, 06:30:37 PM »

thank you very much.  I will get out my vo ad do so tests.  yes it is the factory issued mic.
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 1978




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2012, 10:07:58 PM »

PTT is on pin 2 of the 8pin connector. Let us know your results.
Good luck.
Logged
STAYVERTICAL
Member

Posts: 864




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2012, 01:08:26 AM »

I have just tried my factory microphone and it goes short on pins 2 and 8 (8 is the centre pin) when the PTT is pressed.


Looking INTO THE PLUG ON THE MICROPHONE cable:

            V
     7o          o1
    6o    8o     o2
     5o          o3
           4o  



Good luck,
73 - Rob
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 01:17:12 AM by STAYVERTICAL » Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2012, 06:07:18 PM »

okay checked between pin 2 and 8.  yes ptt switch seems to wok ok.  but then i plugged the mic back into the radio just to see if I still had a problem (i do) and in a moment the entire radio shut down, just like I pushed the on/off switch (i didn't).  bummer. I have just spent close to 300 , having a retired kenwood tech go thru the radio and power supply (but not the mike) less than 20 hours of operation ago.  Frustrated and can't really justify spending much more on this right now.  I do apprecate the help, thank you.
Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2012, 06:18:08 PM »

 I checked the output from the ps-430, the aux output on the back.  It shows zero volts and a short with the switch on (red light is on and fuse is good. fan NOT running)  I do hear a hum tho.
Logged
NO2A
Member

Posts: 779




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2012, 06:25:43 PM »

Have you tried the `430 on cw? Just to see if you have output power.
Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: October 26, 2012, 07:00:26 PM »

when I had power, the radio appeared to transmit on vox, or by pushing the send button, on cw, am, ssb. I had meter movement.
Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #12 on: October 26, 2012, 09:15:58 PM »

i found the one fuse for ac , still good but can't find the dc fuse? were do i go now?
Logged
AE7IS
Member

Posts: 48




Ignore
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2012, 05:13:15 PM »

OK.   picked up another PS430.  and yes the ptt does short across pins 2, 8.  where do I go from here?
Logged
AD6KA
Member

Posts: 2237




Ignore
« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2012, 08:45:58 PM »

Quote
where do I go from here?

Since your first 430 died when you plugged in
the old mic, I would throw it in the trash.
Then either buy a new mic or headset from Heil,
or search the classified for the appropriate Kenwood
hand mic for your NEW 430.

GL ES 73, Ken  AD6KA
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!