Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Kenwood TS-140S, No signal meter movement in RX, TX power/ALC ok?  (Read 3017 times)
W7XLR
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« on: October 21, 2012, 07:33:59 AM »

Just picked up a TS-140S, everything seems to be working fine other than no RX needle movement in any mode, or band. The meter movement itself seems fine as it works in TX showing power, and in ALC. Any ideas? Tnx Robert W7XLR.
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 2093




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2012, 07:52:39 AM »

Do you have any receive problems, i.e. weak or no RX?
Logged
W7XLR
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2012, 07:54:09 AM »

My RX audio is fine in all modes, just no needle movement...
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 2093




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2012, 08:19:24 AM »

The meter gets its signal from the signal unit PCB via CN2. There it is switched by a relay. It may just be a contact problem. To find this out you would have to check the resistance of the contacts or measure the voltage before the relay.
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5689




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2012, 10:18:35 AM »

The meter gets its signal from the signal unit PCB via CN2. There it is switched by a relay. It may just be a contact problem. To find this out you would have to check the resistance of the contacts or measure the voltage before the relay.

Or tap on the relay with a spudger while observing meter action...

Logged
W7XLR
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2012, 11:13:59 AM »

Thanks for the replies. I have cleaned the contacts, and rapped on relays (while monitoring a strong signal) no luck. I have found another anomaly-when RF gain is turned down S meter needle moves up to S9! Well seems it's more than a simple fix. Guess I will have to live with it, don't bug me too much, but will have to lie about the signal reports Shocked
Tnx again...
Logged
KA4POL
Member

Posts: 2093




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2012, 11:32:34 AM »

S meters are not the most accurate devices anyway. So giving an impression of signal strength is certainly good enough. If it is not the relay you will have to dig further into the circuit.
Logged
KA5IPF
Member

Posts: 1032


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2012, 03:39:16 PM »

Thanks for the replies. I have cleaned the contacts, and rapped on relays (while monitoring a strong signal) no luck. I have found another anomaly-when RF gain is turned down S meter needle moves up to S9! Well seems it's more than a simple fix. Guess I will have to live with it, don't bug me too much, but will have to lie about the signal reports Shocked
Tnx again...

That's the way the RF Gain control works. As you turn down the gain the s-meter goes up.

FWIW, What does an S-meter reading have to do with a signal report?

Clif
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5689




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2012, 04:12:48 PM »

Thanks for the replies. I have cleaned the contacts, and rapped on relays (while monitoring a strong signal) no luck. I have found another anomaly-when RF gain is turned down S meter needle moves up to S9! Well seems it's more than a simple fix. Guess I will have to live with it, don't bug me too much, but will have to lie about the signal reports Shocked
Tnx again...


Great Scott, man, that is proper operation! 

Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6459




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2012, 08:37:26 PM »

Thanks for the replies. I have cleaned the contacts, and rapped on relays (while monitoring a strong signal) no luck. I have found another anomaly-when RF gain is turned down S meter needle moves up to S9! Well seems it's more than a simple fix. Guess I will have to live with it, don't bug me too much, but will have to lie about the signal reports Shocked
Tnx again...


Great Scott, man, that is proper operation! 



Yes it is quite normal. I wonder if his AGC circuit is no working and not producing voltage for meter.
Logged

--------------------------------------
All posted wireless using Win 8.1 RT, a Android tablet using 4G/LTE/WiFi or Sprint Note 3.
W7XLR
Member

Posts: 38




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: October 22, 2012, 07:47:22 AM »

Thanks for letting me know that's normal operation for the s-meter to raise when the RF gain is turned down. I never turned down my gain on my FT-620B, and I just got this radio in a yard sale for $100, so I think I did ok...
Logged
G4IJE
Member

Posts: 248




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 04, 2012, 01:20:34 AM »

Are you sure you have the AGC turned ON? I'm not particularly familiar with the TS-140S so it may be that the AGC cannot be turned off, in which case it may be faulty. Strong signals would sound very distorted without AGC, which may give you a clue to a faulty AGC circuit.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!