Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: HOW TO RESET A TS-850S THE A=B BUTTON MAKES THE VFO LOCK AND GO UP IN FREQUENCY  (Read 2041 times)
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« on: November 06, 2012, 02:59:17 PM »

I have TS-850s that I have been trying to reset for some time (its not the light in the display I have put in a new cap and it works fine ) it says in the books just hold done the A=B button but win I push the A=B button down
it turns on the VFO lock win I push the F.lock button the it lock the VFO to and the top it off whine I push the
frequency UP button it goes up in frequency but it locks the VFO to and unlocks it to all 3 of the buttons do the same thing
were the buttons are I have put a new board X41-3140-00  J72-0060-02 and it did not help it.
that why I have been trying to reset some other way to see if I can fix the radio
other thin that the radio works fine   if you know a way I can fix it let me know  
« Last Edit: November 06, 2012, 03:04:54 PM by KD4GGU » Logged
KE4DRN
Member

Posts: 3675




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2012, 03:04:35 PM »

hi ollie,

with the radio powered off,
hold the A=B button down
and turn on the radio.

has the internal battery been replaced recently?

often the battery gets low these radios don't behave
properly and a new battery and reset can clear up problems.

73 james
Logged
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2012, 03:06:09 PM »

WHAT IS THE BATTERY VOLTAGE ON A NEW BATTERY
« Last Edit: November 06, 2012, 03:08:46 PM by KD4GGU » Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3781




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2012, 03:56:32 PM »

If it's a lithium coin cell like a CR-2032 a fresh battery will be up around 3.2 volts or slightly better.

Lithium batteries have a reasonably flat discharge curve that can go for years above 3 volts. But when they slide down to 2.8 volts or less, they're not long for this world and should be replaced before the radio goes funky......
Logged

Yo...   Vinnie...   Is Governor Christie too big to fail?                
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2012, 04:45:57 PM »

I went to the battery store and got the top battery
its a duracell DL2450 it reads 3.2 volts on all 3 of my meters
and I put it in right by the book and it did not help
the old battery read 3.0 volts
Logged
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: November 06, 2012, 08:46:39 PM »

I have replaced the battery and the cap and the A=B + the F. LOCK + the UP button still locks up the VFO
 and makes the frequency go up to the next band

Logged
WX7G
Member

Posts: 5701




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: November 07, 2012, 04:51:38 AM »

Are you doing it exactly as KE4DRN says to do it?
Logged
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: November 07, 2012, 09:08:17 AM »

yes I did 100 times . like I said the A=B is not working I just put in the battery and that
did not help whin I push the A=B button it make the the radio go up a band and locks the VFO
thin if I push it again it unlocks the VFO and go up a band its doing 2 things at the same time
and it not working as a A=B thats why I cant get the radio to reset
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 09:10:50 AM by KD4GGU » Logged
AC5UP
Member

Posts: 3781




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: November 07, 2012, 09:42:35 AM »

with the radio powered off, hold the A=B button down and turn on the radio.

The important concept is to press and hold the A=B button while you turn on the power ON...

Quote
yes I did 100 times

If you are absolutely doing what the book recommends and cannot get a reset, the other option is to disconnect the memory battery and allow the radio to sit idle for a day or two. Some CMOS chips can retain data for a week without power, and it's possible to glitch memory when a new battery is installed. That's why a full reset (the nuclear Armageddon option) is recommended as standard operating procedure after a battery transplant.

But... If all else fails, pulling the battery for a while can reset the radio back to factory defaults.
Logged

Yo...   Vinnie...   Is Governor Christie too big to fail?                
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2012, 09:51:27 AM »

OK  I will pull the battery out for 2 days
and keep it unpluged from any power
« Last Edit: November 07, 2012, 09:55:22 AM by KD4GGU » Logged
KD4GGU
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2012, 10:58:42 AM »

I had the battery out for 2 1/2 days and the radio did not reset
still doing the same thing I dont know what to do
Logged
KD5FX
Member

Posts: 39




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: November 21, 2012, 06:17:36 PM »

You've done all you can do, it needs to go see a pro, I recommend http://www.avvid.com/
He does good work at a reasonable rate.
73, Dave
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!