Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie Questions  (Read 5384 times)
WA2HKA

Ignore
« on: November 24, 2012, 12:52:26 PM »

I am a newbie looking for information on satellite software.  Also, what hardware/software set up do I need to put together an automatic motor to follow the satellites?

Thank you all for your input!

73!!!

Mike, WA2HKA
AE5QB

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2012, 08:37:14 PM »

This is a huge step you are contemplating.  Be sure you are ready for it and ready to spend some dollars. 

There are several satellite tracking software packages available.  Some of them work better than others.  While they all track satellites OK, the interface to a rotator varies in ease and functionality.  If you go to www.amsat.org and go to the store, you can download a trial version of SatPC32.  The download is a full blown version, but unless you pay your money and get your key, you will need to enter your QTH information each time you start it up.  The trial version will give you the opportunity to play with it and see if it will meet your needs.  Another program is called NOVA.  It can be had at  http://www.nlsa.com/   I like the looks of NOVA better, but SatPC32 is easy to get loaded and working.  Some others programs to play with are Orbitron and Ham Radio Deluxe.  I have not tried to interface these, but from what I am told, each has its challenges.

OK so now you have some software loaded.  You are going to need an ALT/AZ rotator to point your antenna(s).  The Yaesu G5500 is one good choice if you have about $700.  Then you need an interface to go between the rotator controller and your PC. The LVB tracker is a nice one and it can be had at www.amsat.org also - $220.