Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Two Antenna questions - distance from roof and height vs lingth of coax  (Read 1613 times)
K8ASY

Ignore
« on: December 06, 2012, 04:13:42 PM »

Hi,

Newbie here with a couple Q's.  I've got a 2m/70cm HT and want to get a better antenna for base station use.  It seems a dual-band J-pole would be just the ticket.  My questions:

1) My house has a metal roof.  What distance from the roof should I mount it vertically and/or laterally?  It's unlikely I'll be able to get much higher than the roof; what about mounting on a wall, some distance below the roof?  Or would I get better results from a design that uses a ground plane and mount it on, or close to, the roof?  The house is two stories above ground on one side, three on the other.

2) Somewhat related:  I know the higher I mount it the better (height above average terrain).  However, the higher I mount it, the higher the coax losses.  I can calculate transmission line loss, but how do I weigh in the effect of height?  At what height are your losses from the line going to be higher than your benefit from getting the antenna higher?

Thanks,

Kelly
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 04:38:02 PM »

Quote from: K8ASY

1) My house has a metal roof.  What distance from the roof should I mount it vertically and/or laterally?

I'd certainly try to get it above the top edge of the roof, otherwise the roof will block it
in some directions.  A mast secured to the wall that gets it just up over the edge will
be adequate.