Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: QRO 2000 vs Acom 1000  (Read 2291 times)
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« on: December 20, 2012, 05:18:57 PM »

 Huh   I'm in the process of purchasing an Amp and had my eyes on either an Acom 1000 or a QRO 2000. I know they both are a fantastic Amps but maybe I can get some feedback from someone who has or have had experience with them.

I'll appreciate your input.


David/n4ndx
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 3525




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2012, 08:47:11 PM »

Putting budget aside they are the same in bands in usage but much different in operation.

The QRO is instant on, legal limit+ and very forgiving. You will need a serious 240 AC supply line from the AC can to make it sing.

The ACOM  is efficient, ceramic tube and very quiet. Your power is half the QRO. Tuning is a bit more critical. but will perform will on a stiff 120 VAC feed.

Both will hold their value well.

An unusual choice. A bit like picking a 500 HP Mustang or a 300 HP Porsche.
« Last Edit: December 20, 2012, 08:55:07 PM by K6AER » Logged
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2012, 09:11:14 PM »

That's exactly my problem. Don't know which one to choose.

David/n4ndx
Logged
W1MSG
Member

Posts: 91


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2012, 01:27:25 AM »

You will never go wrong with choosing Legal Limit capable.. Better to have it and not need it than not have it and need that little extra to bust a pile up.
Logged
N4RSS
Member

Posts: 260




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2012, 06:40:57 AM »

Since I have the QRO 2500 and have had to repair it due to lightning, I can say that any qualified technician can fix it.  They are basic.  The Acom is more complex and this may narrow the field of folks qualified to work on it should you have a problem.
Logged
NT6U
Member

Posts: 68




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2012, 06:48:53 PM »

Putting budget aside they are the same in bands

     If I'm correct in understanding your "same in bands"  the Acom has 6 meters the QRO does not.
Logged
K6AER
Member

Posts: 3525




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2012, 08:22:09 PM »

Ah the plot thickens....

It would greatly help if we knew what the young lad had in mind in operation.
Logged
W1QJ
Member

Posts: 1458




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2012, 09:26:01 PM »

Ah the plot thickens....

It would greatly help if we knew what the young lad had in mind in operation.

On another note, how is the amp coming along that you and Don and Dan are working on with the roller inductor?  Huh 
Logged
K0WA
Member

Posts: 95




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 22, 2012, 01:24:10 PM »

I have operated both amplifiers in a contest environment.  The QRO will give you more watts than the Acom 1000.  The Acom 1000 is very very quite and quite the amplifier.  We ran the Acom 1000 amp for SS (CW and SSB) in a field day type location on 120 volts.  No problem at all.  Worked the whole time at 900 watts to 1000 watts output.  Tuning an Acom1000 is pretty darn good.  Easy to do and the Acom has a very forgiving turning procedure.  It will take a quite a bit of a miss match before getting cranky.  Both amps will get the job done, but I really liked the Acom 1000.

Lee
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!