Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Video on PSK31 Audio Level setup  (Read 4771 times)
W2AEW
Member

Posts: 660


WWW

Ignore
« on: December 23, 2012, 02:25:29 PM »

By request of one of my YouTube channel subscribers, I put together a video showing how I properly setup my audio drive levels for PSK31 using the RF power and ALC metering, and verifying by observing the RF envelope on an oscilloscope.  I thought folks in this forum might be interested also, so I'm posting the link here:

PSK31 audio level setup video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oet6hLMnDpE

73,
Alan
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
Logged

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1703




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 06:12:04 PM »

Was your power out control wide open?
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
KG6AF
Member

Posts: 373




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 08:03:52 PM »

Very useful.  I'll take a look at your videos on sampling tees, too.

I was wondering why your call sounded so familiar, then realized I'd heard your very entertaining interview on the Amp Hour podcast.
Logged
W2AEW
Member

Posts: 660


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2012, 09:26:58 PM »

Was your power out control wide open?

Not in the case of this video. I had it dialed down to 25 watts.  Sometimes I'll leave it wide open and adjust the output to 10-20w with just the audio drive level.
Logged

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
W2AEW
Member

Posts: 660


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2012, 09:28:12 PM »

Very useful.  I'll take a look at your videos on sampling tees, too.

I was wondering why your call sounded so familiar, then realized I'd heard your very entertaining interview on the Amp Hour podcast.

Oh yes, I hope you enjoyed the podcast! I had fun talking with Chris and Dave.
Logged

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1703




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2012, 05:15:26 PM »

Was your power out control wide open?

Not in the case of this video. I had it dialed down to 25 watts.

And that is why your ALC started up at around 25 watts.
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
W2AEW
Member

Posts: 660


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2012, 07:21:40 PM »

Was your power out control wide open?

Not in the case of this video. I had it dialed down to 25 watts.

And that is why your ALC started up at around 25 watts.

Exactly right.
Logged

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
VE3FMC
Member

Posts: 1006


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: December 25, 2012, 08:03:33 AM »

Was your power out control wide open?

Not in the case of this video. I had it dialed down to 25 watts.

You should not be showing any ALC when operating any digital mode. I can dump any digital signal into my dummy load and go up to close to 100 watts output and not have any ALC showing.

I run my rig at 100 watts and use the TX gain on the SignaLink USB to control the output. No ALC reading at anytime.

And that is why your ALC started up at around 25 watts.

Exactly right.
Logged
W2AEW
Member

Posts: 660


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #8 on: December 25, 2012, 11:47:39 AM »


You should not be showing any ALC when operating any digital mode. I can dump any digital signal into my dummy load and go up to close to 100 watts output and not have any ALC showing.

I run my rig at 100 watts and use the TX gain on the SignaLink USB to control the output. No ALC reading at anytime.

And that is why your ALC started up at around 25 watts.

Yes, I agree.  I normally leave the power set at 100w, and set the power level desired by adjusting the audio level.  I always run the level below the ALC threshold.  I dialed the power down to 25w for the video so that I could show the ALC effect and run without overloading me dummy load.

Exactly right.
[/quote]
[/quote]
Logged

------------------------------------------------------
My YouTube channel...
...ham radio, basic electronics tutorials, etc.
http://www.youtube.com/w2aew
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1703




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: December 25, 2012, 04:49:36 PM »

It would have been educational to show that relationship at multiple power levels so people understand why we run at 100%.
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

Never believe an atom. They make up everything.
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!