Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Unable to tune FT-450D in AM or FM  (Read 3010 times)
KB1TJY
Member

Posts: 257




Ignore
« on: December 23, 2012, 08:34:05 PM »

Not sure where to post this...wish the Forum had Rig specific categories.

In any event I am unable to explain this. When my new Yaesu FT-450D is set to AM or FM I cannot tune it.  I have to first set the desired AM or FM frequency in LSB and then use 'Mode' to move over to AM or FM. Once there I am unable to change frequencies. DSP is disengaged across the board, and the tuning knob is not locked.

I am overlooking something but for the life of me cannot figure out what. Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Lyman
Logged
K2OWK
Member

Posts: 1073




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 09:15:14 PM »

When in the AM/FM mode the tuning is done with the DSP/SEL knob. I would recommend joining the Yahoo FT-450 group. They have many answers to questions that you might ask.

Hope this helps.

73s

K2OWK
Logged
KB1TJY
Member

Posts: 257




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 09:27:58 PM »

When in the AM/FM mode the tuning is done with the DSP/SEL knob. I would recommend joining the Yahoo FT-450 group. They have many answers to questions that you might ask.

Hope this helps.

73s

K2OWK
Thank you and I'll join that Group.

Best,

Lyman
KB1TJY
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20636




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2012, 01:32:19 PM »

When in the AM/FM mode the tuning is done with the DSP/SEL knob. 


Another weird rig.

This is one of the several reasons I never bought an FT-450D and stuck with my old FT-857D for mobile work.  The 450-series has a lot of quirks.
Logged
AC2EU
Member

Posts: 453


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: December 25, 2012, 05:36:42 PM »

I have an early production FT450AT which works fine. He may have a defective radio or he's in a memory mode or something. ( seemingly weird things can happen there if  I forget it is in that mode) The only difference with the "D"  is lighted face buttons and some other minor improvements.
This is definitely one of those radios where you have to know how to access the features in menus.
If you don't like multi-function buttons and sub menus, this is not a radio for you.
However,I like the little brick! To each his own, I guess...
Logged

VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2406




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: December 25, 2012, 06:41:55 PM »

It helps to read the manual.  _All_ of it!

There's a menu option "A&FDIAL" which works so:

. . . If ON, the main tuning dial is active in AM and FM mode

. . . If OFF, the main tuning dial is inactive in AM and FM mode.

In those modes, tuning can be done with the DSP/SEL knob, _if_ it's not active for any DSP function.

So you press the DSP button until the cursor on the DSP sub-screen disappears, and then turn the DSP/SEL knob to change frequency.

The reason:

. . . Most AM and FM tuning is done to channelized frequencies.

In that case, the continuous tuning of the main dial isn't needed.

This is a common "gotcha".  What surprises me is how many incorrect responses showed up!

And yes, you should join the Yahoo group for the FT-450.  It's active, and knowledgeable.

.               Charles
Logged
M6GOM
Member

Posts: 993




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2012, 04:20:04 AM »

The FT857 and FT897 work the same way as you describe Charles.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!