Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: FT-817ND Won't turn on unless plugged in.  (Read 5602 times)
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« on: January 03, 2013, 07:10:09 AM »

I have a Yaesu FT-817ND that will not power on. I plug the AC charger into it and it powers on fine. I can then unplug it and I know the battery is fine because it will run for 4-5 hours on the battery before it cuts off.

Why won't it power on without being plugged in?
Logged
WX7G
Member

Posts: 5917




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 07:33:20 AM »

Have you performed a complete reset?
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 08:50:52 AM »

No I have not. I assume that's in the manual? I'll take a look.

Will that lose the 60 meter memory channels?
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2013, 10:01:11 AM »

Reset did NOT fix it.

Anything else?
Logged
K9MOV
Member

Posts: 42




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 03, 2013, 03:50:39 PM »

After having the 817 for many years and no problems except haven't been able to keep a Batt. good for over 6 to 8 mo.-- I would think that it may be a Batt. problem. Maybe one cell is bad and with increased R loss in the batt. the voltage may be to low for the radio to turn on, but able to run on the Batt. once it does.
A fast check would be to put the radio on a dummy load, power it up with external supply so the radio turns on and then turn off or unplug the external supply so its running on batt. Put the radio in the FM mode and key the radio, check the menu that it is in the 5 watt mode and you should see 5 watts or near that. Remember to go into menu to set the power to the high power mode. If you can't make close to 5 watts, the battery is bad.
The other thing I would check is-- menu 8 (APO) and menu 49( TOT).
I hope it is as simple as that.
Lane--K9MOV
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 03, 2013, 03:55:40 PM »

Thanks Lane,

It seems the radio would not be on for 4 hours if the battery was bad. The voltage was 10.7 or so when I powered it on after a charge. I think after a couple of hours it was around 9.7 or so.
Logged
K5TED
Member

Posts: 694




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 03, 2013, 09:22:26 PM »

Could be a bad front panel unit. Same thing mine was doing. Yaesu repair depot charged $186 plus shipping to replace.
Logged
K9MOV
Member

Posts: 42




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2013, 10:51:29 PM »

Yes, it would seem that your batt. is ok.
Good luck with your problem.  73--Lane
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 04, 2013, 07:46:06 PM »

It seems to be working okay now.

If anyone else has any more ideas I'd love to hear it.
Logged
W4JST
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2013, 09:23:04 AM »

It's been working perfect everytime now turning on on battery power for the last couple of days.

Maybe it got too cold in my car and took a couple days in the house to get straightened out?

Anyone else have any experience/ideas?
Logged
K9MOV
Member

Posts: 42




Ignore
« Reply #10 on: January 05, 2013, 02:48:04 PM »

I have nothing more to add except very glad it didn't cost you any money--HI
73--- Lane, K9MOV
Logged
KCJ9091
Member

Posts: 0




Ignore
« Reply #11 on: January 05, 2013, 03:46:25 PM »

The gremlins got bored and went somewhere else.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!