Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Yaesu FT-1000MP Mark-V Field low out put power  (Read 1983 times)
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« on: January 03, 2013, 01:14:13 PM »

 Huh I'm experiencing low RF power out when operating barefoot. The radio is only maxing out 80 watts after adjusting the RF POWER dial (VR3003) to its max,  I only gained 10 watt from my previous power out of 70 watts. What could be the problem here?


David/n4ndx
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20595




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 09:00:38 AM »

What is your "load?"  Good 50 Ohm dummy load, or something else?

What are you using to measure output power?

What does the DC voltage measure right at the transceiver (not at the power supply) when you transmit, key-down, on CW for this measurement?
Logged
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2013, 12:11:35 PM »

I'm using a DL2K Palstar as a Dummy load, also using an LP-100A Digital Meter. By the way in 40m and 80m it shows improvement of 106 Watts. According to Mark-V owners when you twick the VR3003 clockwise you can adj it to even close to 200w, not that I want to take it to that extreme but would like 110w more or less since my new amp is a legal limit QRO Amp and needs 110w to make it 1500w happy.

David/n4ndx
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20595




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 04, 2013, 02:21:48 PM »

I'm using a DL2K Palstar as a Dummy load, also using an LP-100A Digital Meter. By the way in 40m and 80m it shows improvement of 106 Watts.

I'm confused.  In your first post you said, "The radio is only maxing out 80 watts after adjusting the RF POWER dial (VR3003) to its max,  I only gained 10 watt from my previous power out of 70 watts."

In this post you said on 40m and 80m it's measuring 106W.  Which is right?  Is it 106W on 80 & 40m and 80W on the other bands?
Logged
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 04, 2013, 03:15:09 PM »

Yes 106 watts on 80 and 40 M and 20-10m 80 watts at the middle of each band not on the bands edge.

David/n4ndx
Logged
NN4F
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2013, 11:35:21 AM »

I'm using a DL2K Palstar as a Dummy load, also using an LP-100A Digital Meter. By the way in 40m and 80m it shows improvement of 106 Watts. According to Mark-V owners when you twick the VR3003 clockwise you can adj it to even close to 200w, not that I want to take it to that extreme but would like 110w more or less since my new amp is a legal limit QRO Amp and needs 110w to make it 1500w happy.

David/n4ndx

I would keep the radio stock and not mess with the extra power, driving the HF2000 at 80watts even should give you close to legal limit, you should probably drive it with about 60watts and get about a kilowatt, more than enough for most occasions, and you'll extend the life of the transistors in the 1000...
Logged
N4CR
Member

Posts: 1666




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2013, 02:52:06 PM »

Is the internal tuner turned off and fave you tweaked the input tuning on the amplifier to increase power transfer to the amp? Almost every transistor rig created today will cut back power in the face of a poor match to the next stage.

It's only a 100 watt radio so it's pretty close from what you wrote.
Logged

73 de N4CR, Phil

We are Coulomb of Borg. Resistance is futile. Voltage, on the other hand, has potential.
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2013, 08:08:07 PM »

I think I'm going to take Paul's/NN4F advise and just leave the rig stock. I think I can drive close to legal limit with 80w anyway.


David/n4ndx
Logged
NN4F
Member

Posts: 51




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2013, 11:06:13 AM »

I think I'm going to take Paul's/NN4F advise and just leave the rig stock. I think I can drive close to legal limit with 80w anyway.


David/n4ndx

Good Idea David, I have the MkV (200w), and drive an old alpha 78 with about 80watts, and it loafs along at 1kw, with the Mosley I have up, i pretty much get through first time, (once you find were the dx is listening) and now my 200w radio is only used at low power, most I run it to is about 120w if the pile up is small and don't need the amp... FYI some of the 1000mp series parts are starting to run low, i had a close by lightning strike, took out my main cpu, chip is on permanent back order, luckily yaesu had the 1000mp mkv control board in stock, not cheap at $351, so treat your 1000 with kid gloves and it should last a long time....
Logged
N4NDX
Member

Posts: 200




Ignore
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2013, 01:42:00 PM »

Hi Paul
 
Sorry about your rig, I love mine and hope it would out last me. I chase DX as you can see from my call sign and I've done very well with the 1000MP just hate to spend an hour waiting for an opening, that's why I bought a legal limit Amp. I will basically only use over 1k for new countries only. I was using an AL-811H and was doing well other than sometimes waiting too long to get through.

Thanks aging for slapping me over the head to regained my two senses.  Cheesy
     
David/n4ndx
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!