Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Loop antenna setup and use  (Read 2117 times)
KF7ZCH

Ignore
« on: January 03, 2013, 06:55:07 PM »

I am a new general class operator.  I have gotten a new hf radio and I want to put up an antenna.  On my roof a loop antenna would be preferable.  I want to consult anyone on eham.nets forums to help me.  My proposed idea is as follows:  I want to make an 80 M loop.  I want feed it with ladder line or something similar, have a balun and have coax to my antenna tuner then to my radio.  I would like to know if this is a decent setup or if the effort, at least on my roof, to get a dipole up is worth the effort.  Can my setup produce low swr and get a fair amount of my rig's 100 watts to the antenna?  If this antenna system works, what kind of balun would I use.  Responses are greatly appreciated.  I am open to people's ideas and responses. Thank you.

KF7ZCH
AC2EU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2013, 08:49:18 PM »

There was a recent discussion of a loop antenna under the antenna forum heading recently. Take a look at that or do a search  of the site.
Any time you have an antenna in close proximity to another structure, there can be deleterious effects.
That's true for ladder line as well.

In the event that you can't find the info that you are looking for here, you  might want to consider getting a copy of the ARRL antenna book. It has thorough discussions about most types of antennas and feed line configurations.

Jim
AC2EU

KU3X

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 06:46:29 AM »

You have given a good approach to the issue at hand. But, once you put the parallel feeders on the antenna, you can not expect a low SWR on all bands. There is a possible way to do it but you’d be better off taking this approach: