Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Antenna set up help  (Read 1788 times)
KF7ZCH

Ignore
« on: January 03, 2013, 06:58:10 PM »

I am a new general class operator.  I have gotten a new hf radio and I want to put up an antenna.  On my roof a loop antenna would be preferable.  I want to consult anyone on eham.nets forums to help me.  My proposed idea is as follows:  I want to make an 80 M loop.  I want feed it with ladder line or something similar, have a balun and have coax to my antenna tuner then to my radio.  I would like to know if this is a decent setup or if the effort, at least on my roof, to get a dipole up is worth the effort.  Can my setup produce low swr and get a fair amount of my rig's 100 watts to the antenna?  If this antenna system works, what kind of balun would I use.  Responses are greatly appreciated.  I am open to people's ideas and responses. Thank you.

KF7ZCH
WB6BYU

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2013, 07:03:11 PM »

How big is your roof?

An 80m full-wave loop is about 270' of wire (depending what part of the band
you cut it for.)  That's going to be around 70' square.  I've strung such a loop
around my back yard, but I've never lived in a single family home that was
big enough for one.  A 40m loop, which is half that size, will fit in many cases.

If you have room for such an antenna, it is a good place to start.  Performance
will depend on height above ground, as with most types of antennas.  (While
a 2-story house improves the antenna height, it also reduces the area of the
roof to install the antenna.  At least for us mere mortals who can't afford
a mansion.)
KF7ZCH

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2013, 09:07:03 PM »