Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: signalink/ts450s puzzle  (Read 2003 times)
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« on: January 13, 2013, 06:23:23 AM »

i have the signalink and ts450s working great together.  i've made several contacts and have good reports.  BUT, once in a while, the signalink becomes obstinate and refuses to key the rig...

i can't pinpoint any particular reason that sets it off.  AND, i can't put my finger on exactly what i'm doing to bring it back.  i try turning the interface off for a bit and then on, i've tried turning the rig off for a bit and then on, i've tried turning them both off and on.  i've adjusted the levels all over the place... is it me? or a flaky interface?  i'm not the brightest bulb on the tree, and i don't think i'm all that dim, but maybe moreso than i realize.

oh, i'm using the digitalmaster 780 software... i have the cat interface ordered and in transit. but it works fine without it.

any thoughts?

many thanks
Logged
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2013, 07:58:42 AM »

aaargghhhh!!!!!! driving me nuts!!!! did it again in the middle of a contact!!!!
Logged
VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2414




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2013, 01:42:58 PM »

It's possible that you're not driving the SignaLink hard enough to trigger its VOX circuit.

An experiment:

. . . Raise the TX output level _in your PC software_, by 50%, if that's possible.

. . . If necessary, compensate by turning down the Signalink's "TX" knob to eliminate ALC in the rig.

Maybe that's the problem, maybe not.

.        Charles
Logged
VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2414




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2013, 01:45:47 PM »

The other likely cause:


. . . Bad connection in the PTT circuit.

Check the jumper wires inside the SignaLink, and the cable that goes to the rig, and so on.

I assume that you're using the SignaLink's PTT control (which is automatic, VOX-controlled).  The FT-450 will also work with "digital VOX", but the DIG VOX menu item has to be at 99 or 100 for good results.

Actually, using the FT-450's DIG VOX menu item would be a good workaround, for a problem in the SignaLink's VOX circuitry.

.           Charles
Logged
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2013, 05:09:26 PM »

thank you for taking time to reply to this.  i believe i have narrowed the problem to the cables, maybe.   the last time it happened, i pulled the cables from the back of the interface and reseated them.  it began to work and did so all afternoon.  20 meters was active and i made several solid contacts with good reports.

the next time it happens, i'll make sure to reseat only ONE cable at a time to find out which it is. 

could this be linked to a problem i had earlier?  the interface would only key the radio while the radio was in FSK mode. 

Logged
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2013, 02:42:50 PM »

nothing seems to work when it goes crazy like this.  it worked all day yesterday, several hours last night, and all this morning... i came in while ago, worked a station, took the dogs out, came back in and it is crapped out again...

it will key the rig, but there's NO power out... i've adjusted all the parameters and knobs i can find to adjust...

ggggrrrrrrrrrrrr.....

for no apparent reason, to me... it flakes out with no warning... WHAT AM I MISSING!?!
Logged
W8JX
Member

Posts: 6686




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2013, 04:58:54 PM »

Maybe you computer hardware. What are you using and its configuration?
Logged

--------------------------------------
You can embrace new computer/tablet technology and change with it or cling to old fall far behind....
KM4IY
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2013, 04:39:33 PM »

i think we can lay the blame on a cable.  if i hold it in just the perfect position it works, otherwise, its a brick.  i have a 2nd cable for another rig... it works with that one.   i emailed this info to tigertronics and they are supposed to send another cable.
Logged
VA7CPC
Member

Posts: 2414




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2013, 10:30:28 PM »

USB cables are _very_ sensitive to "RF in the shack".  We had a problem two Field Day's ago -- very nasty to find.

But the fix was simple:

. . . A clip-on ferrite on each end of the USB cable.

If it's not loose, maybe it's picking up stray RF.  If your antenna is close to the rig, or you're not using a balun, "RF in the shack" is a good bet.

.           charles
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!