Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AL-811h - power handling in standby  (Read 1242 times)
KB1UJS
Member

Posts: 40




Ignore
« on: January 09, 2013, 08:12:23 AM »

Hi all.  I'm rewiring my station and have a question.  How much input power from the exciter can the AL-811h handle when in standby?  I'm thinking running 100W through the amp while in standby when I want to work barefoot won't be an issue, but it's not clear from what I've read just how much power can be fed through. 

Thanks,
Ken
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12805




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2013, 08:30:28 AM »

When in standby, power is only passing through the antenna relays. It should handle 100W with no problem.
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20575




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2013, 09:10:50 AM »

When in standby, power is only passing through the antenna relays. It should handle 100W with no problem.


Of course it will.  And probably also 1000W with no problem, unless the relay contacts are worn out or misaligned.
Logged
KB1UJS
Member

Posts: 40




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2013, 10:28:57 AM »

When in standby, power is only passing through the antenna relays. It should handle 100W with no problem.


Of course it will.  And probably also 1000W with no problem, unless the relay contacts are worn out or misaligned.

That's what I figured.  Thanks!

Ken
Logged
KE3WD
Member

Posts: 5694




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2013, 03:33:58 PM »

But -- I wouldn't recommend running more than the input to the amp can safely handle through the amp, as if one does that, there WILL be that day when one mistake will be costly. 

And that goes double if its a contest day. 

But running the typical 100W rig won't be a bad situation, a mistake there is more likely to just cause higher distortion and splatter, not do to the amp input what 1KW might, just because that stdby switch happened to be in the wrong position...


73
Logged
KB1UJS
Member

Posts: 40




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2013, 08:44:41 AM »

But -- I wouldn't recommend running more than the input to the amp can safely handle through the amp, as if one does that, there WILL be that day when one mistake will be costly. 

And that goes double if its a contest day. 

But running the typical 100W rig won't be a bad situation, a mistake there is more likely to just cause higher distortion and splatter, not do to the amp input what 1KW might, just because that stdby switch happened to be in the wrong position...


73

Duly noted.  I plan to put a big red label by the standby switch reminding me to drop the output before using the amp.  I only plan to put 100 watts through on standby anyway.  Levels will actually be less than that most of the time due to primarily using PSK when the amp isn't in use.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!