Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Procedural Questions  (Read 373 times)
VE5AE
Member

Posts: 12




Ignore
« on: May 14, 2009, 07:43:17 AM »

Question #1
I'm calling CQ and someone answered me. I only copied the prefix K4. What exactly should I send back in this case?

Question #2
I'm having a QSO, I copied the RST and ANT but not the QTH and name. How should I answer this?

I'm new to CW and I'm trying to learn right.

thx

Ian, VE5AE
Logged
W5ESE
Member

Posts: 550


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2009, 08:17:09 AM »

Welcome to CW. You'll have a lot of fun with it.

For a partially missed call, the prosign is
'QRZ'; "Who is calling me?":

QRZ? K4? DE VE5AE K

For a missed name and QTH;

NAME ES QTH AGN PSE K

There are a lot of CW operating tips at:

http://www.geocities.com/scottamcmullen/Accent.pdf

Hope this helps!
73
Scott
W5ESE
Logged
W7ETA
Member

Posts: 2528




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2009, 08:39:50 AM »

You could also send FB RST es ant-OP? QTH? BK

Have FUN
Bob
Logged
KE7WAV
Member

Posts: 126




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2009, 10:02:13 AM »

The two preivous posters have steered you right.  I myself am a new CW op and I have had to ask "QRZ W9?" or "PLS NAME AGN"  CW OPS have all startes where we are and are usually quite willing to help you out.  If there is fading in the signal making the copy hard to make out-- add "QSB PLS NAME AGN"  

Have fun!  I hope to catch you on the air.
Logged
KE0CU
Member

Posts: 102




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2009, 10:54:10 AM »

When I make a short statement or question in cw and then add BK, why does the other operator start his transmission with BK?

(hope I'm not hijacking the thread)
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20547




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2009, 11:30:42 AM »

>RE: Procedural Questions       Reply
by KE0CU on May 14, 2009    Mail this to a friend!
When I make a short statement or question in cw and then add BK, why does the other operator start his transmission with BK?<

::That's an old fashioned protocol, and there's really nothing wrong with it for most slower speed rag-chew type operating.  By sending BK at the beginning of the transmission, you make it easy for the other station (the one in your QSO) to tell that it's *you* coming back to him and are about to start conversing, without exchanging callsigns.  It's fine.

In higher speed real QSK operating, nobody does this.

WB2WIK/6


 
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!