Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Learning to send CW  (Read 2010 times)
K5TAT

Ignore
« on: June 02, 2009, 11:58:10 AM »

I received my license several weeks ago and am making good progress copying CW thanks to G4FON. Now I’m ready to develop my sending skills.

Nearly all the advice in this forum appears to focus on copying CW, but little on learning to send even though there is a general consensus that there are many poor fists on the air.

While I plan to graduate to a keyer soon, I think it’s important to develop solid straight key skills. How did most of you do it? Just sending to yourself using a code practice oscillator or did you record/playback your code?
K5END

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2009, 12:07:07 PM »

I'm new at it too.

You may find sending *good* code just as challenging as copying.

It does take practice.

If you consider using a practice oscillator you might want to check the Picokeyer at hamgadgets.com It's very affordable and will serve as your keyer whenever you move to twin paddle. This kit is very easy to assemble and solder. From the time I opened the package until it was working was 45 minutes...including 20 minutes looking for that dang roll of solder.

Because of some minor arthritis and tendonitis in my elbows, I went straight to the twin paddle. I practice sending by picking up a newspaper or magazine and sending the text. Finally there is a use for junk mail!

Hope this information is helpful to you.
K7KBN

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2009, 04:29:19 PM »

K5END:  "Finally there is a use for junk mail!"

Bravo!

Pat K7KBN
CWO4 USNR Ret.
KC2MJT

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: June 02, 2009, 05:06:11 PM »