The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

donate to eham
   Home   Help Search  
Pages: Prev 1 [2]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Short rant  (Read 3596 times)
AC7CW

Ignore
« Reply #15 on: March 25, 2018, 07:30:04 AM »

I've had better experience with Dashlane than Lastpass.

Novice 1958, 20WPM Extra now... (and get off my lawn)
N5MAJ

Ignore
« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2018, 12:33:40 PM »

I work in the computer security industry, and this is a common complaint.

The current industry recommended "best practice" is to use a different password for each website, and use password management software to remember all of those passwords. You should also use multi-factor authentication, sometimes called two-factor authentication, whenever available.

Some common questions and answers:

*  Why use different passwords for each website?  Because if you use the same password everywhere, that means that one website getting breached means the attackers now have your email address and password to ALL of your websites. You might not care that much about a ham radio website, but if you use the same email address and password for your bank, or for a shopping site like Amazon, then an attacker can quietly start using your identity for financial purposes. Another thing to remember is that sometimes breaches go undetected for YEARS, and a hacker can quietly use your information "under the radar," and you won't know until it's too late.

*  Why use password management software?  Unless you have an eidetic memory, you cannot memorize that many "strong" passwords. That's the biggest reason why people reuse passwords. However, if you have some software that stores all of your passwords in an encrypted format, and unlocks them with a single password, that means you just have to remember that one "master" password. There are some tips you can use for memorizing a single strong password.