Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1] 2 Next   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: AL-80A problem interfacing to Icom 718  (Read 3886 times)
KE7RTV

Ignore
« on: February 16, 2013, 04:54:24 PM »

Hi,

I'm new to amplifiers. I just bought an Al-80A. My radio is an Icom 718. The problem is that when
I transmit using the Al-80A, my transmission works but every incoming signal after it
is distorted to the point that I'm unable to understand what's being said. If I turn the radio off and
back on, the distortion goes away.
Sometimes, I've had to turn the radio off and on several times before the distortion clears up.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,  Steve KE7RTV

KM3F

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2013, 05:30:55 PM »

Does it do it without using the amplifier or only when you use the amplifier?
Only way for distortion to occur is the receiver it'self if you need to turn it off/on several times to stop it.
The amplifer is out of the picture at that point.
What is the SWR when using the amplifier?
It's possible RF feedback is overloading the radio until you stop it by turning it off then on again.
Good luck.
KE7RTV

Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2013, 09:59:58 PM »

Hi,

Thanks for the reply. In answer to your quesion; the distortion only happens when the
amp is being used.  SWR  was between 1.5 and 2. 

73 and thanks again,

Steve
KE3WD

Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2013, 05:14:03 PM »

Maybe too much RF in the shack and getting into the radio. 
\
K0CWO

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2013, 08:43:25 PM »

Can the distortion you are talking about be described as an intermittent receive situation?  If so, it could be a sticky transmit/receive relay.  If your reception is fine without the amplifier in line, that would be a thing I'd look at. 
N4CR

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2013, 09:21:15 PM »

Maybe too much RF in the shack and getting into the radio.