Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: 500-Watt VHF linear amplifiers?  (Read 3485 times)
AF8F
Member

Posts: 32




Ignore
« on: February 24, 2013, 10:48:31 AM »

I'm searching for a 500-Watt linear amplifier for 2-meter EME use.  Tokyo Hy-Power has one but I cannot find anyone that sells it in the USA.

It would be driven with 100-Watts input from an Icom IC-910H.

I cannot find one.  Does anyone know of such a linear?

Thanks for your help.
Logged
K2DC
Member

Posts: 1374


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2013, 11:15:00 AM »

Henry makes a 500W 2M SS amp:

http://www.henryradio.com/ss_pricing.htm

73,

Don, K2DC
Logged
N5VTU
Member

Posts: 365




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2013, 12:06:12 PM »

I don't think the Henry will be very good for EME as it's only mode is FM.

M2 has a nice solid state 1.2kW amp for 2m available here specifically for EME operation -

http://www.m2inc.com/pdf_manuals/2M-1K2%20SPECIFICATIONS.pdf


Stephen
N5VTU
Logged
WB6BYU
Member

Posts: 13341




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2013, 12:33:52 PM »

Quote from: N5VTU

I don't think the Henry will be very good for EME as it's only mode is FM.



Should be fine on CW.
Logged
N6AJR
Member

Posts: 9910




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2013, 02:12:04 PM »

M2  ( m squared ) make a 1000 watter, and I have one at 400 watts made by mirage which is several years old,
Logged
W4AMP
Member

Posts: 96


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2013, 05:01:15 PM »

http://www.tesystems.com/am-radio.htm

TE 1454 is good for around 500 watts. The amp needs about 45 or 50 amps. i run mine with an Astron 70 A. That gives me the 70 watts of drive for the 910H and the current for the amp. And if you key the 910h at full output (100 watts)by accident, you won't blow the amp, it can take it.Occasionally it is fine, but that is getting the transistors close to saturation. You can get an amp that takes lower drive with a preamp. But the 1454 has too high a drive for a preamp. I use the Icom outboard preamp between the rig and the amp. Don't have to worry about relays or sequencers that way. Not as effective as mast mounting I know, but it does help. Plus you can turn the receive up on the 910H as well.

http://www.kb2ljj.com/data/icom/ic-910.htm
Logged
WB8PFZ
Member

Posts: 81




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2013, 05:25:53 PM »

Does it have to be solid state? Mike
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!