CW on 2 meter

(1/4) > >>

David A. Bamford:
Hello all: First of all, I am a newbie to CW...

I am wondering if it is possible to listen to and learn CW on 2 meter, and is there much activity there?

I don't have a full size rig currently, just a hand held radio. If possible I would like to get a small antenna outside.

as usual thanks*

Jason Short:
Hello,

Well, the only times I ever hear CW on 2 meters are during contests or band openings down in the weak signal portion of the band OR during the I.D. on a FM repeater. From what you state, it sounds like you just have a FM handheld? you can't really do CW on that.

I call CQ down around 144.2 at times, but haven't gotten a reply in quite a while. To really do any good down there, you do need a little bit of an antenna.

Would be kind of neat to get a 2 meter cw ragchew net going, or something along those lines.

D Scott Hepworth:
I used to listen to a weekly CW practice session on one of our local repeaters.  Once I passed my code test, I quit listening.  And now that the code requirement has been dropped, they may have discontinued the practice sessions, I don't know (stopped listening!)

I found the practice sessions helpful, so if you can find one, tune in.  If you can't find one in your area, maybe you can talk some elmers into starting one up. (use a 'trying to keep the code alive' line of reasoning, that may do the trick!) ;)

Scott kc9hoz

Jason Short:
another thing... for me, the best way to practice is just to listen in on qso's. every morning, I find super fast stations ragchewing in the extra portion. I listen to these guys and it has helped my high speed/head copy considerably.

also, the ARRL code practice transmissions are great, as they are not a qso, but text out of qst magazine. they do 5 wpm all the way up to 20 wpm I think.

Steve Katz: