Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: GCFI outlet popping on transmit  (Read 5555 times)
NK9N
Member

Posts: 7




Ignore
« on: March 05, 2013, 07:09:05 AM »

Whenever I run my linear on 40 meters using a wire loop, it pops the GCFI circuit in my master bathroom.  Doesnt happen on 20 with hex beam.  And ideas on a fix?  The loop is over the roof of the house by about ten feet.  Ferrite on the GCFI leads?
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12688




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 08:09:44 AM »

Move the antenna farther away from the house or try a better quality GFCI breaker. You probably won't have room to add a significant amount of inductance (turns on ferrite beads) for HF inside the typical outlet box.

Logged
WB2EOD
Member

Posts: 214




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2013, 06:30:09 PM »

I've had the same problem.  I agree with AA4PB.  If the GFCI is more than a few years old, it may be more sensitive to RF than a more recent one.  Try a different brand.  Also try to get the antenna further away. 

Hope this helps

73
WB2EOD
Logged
WX2S
Member

Posts: 689




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2013, 02:30:46 AM »

Ran into this too. Agree with WB2EOD. Older GFCIs are susceptible to RFI. The UL standards were amended a few years ago to include better EMC testing. Replace it with a new, name-brand one and you should be OK. (I installed a Leviton.)

73, -WX2S.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 02:37:33 AM by WX2S » Logged

73, - Steve WX2S.
I subscribe to the DX Code of Conduct. http://dx-code.org/
AE7VT
Member

Posts: 6


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2013, 09:17:29 AM »

Be sure you get a US made GFI.  There are some imports that have UL and CSA labeling but, they are junk and a lot of counterfeit GFI's came into the U.S. a couple of years ago.  Brands like Leviton, Pass & Seymour or Hubbell are the ones you should use.  Also, be sure if you have a 'pass-through' or end-of-circuit type.  The pass-through types protect all down-stream receptacles and have connections for the downstream circuit, end-circuit GFI receptacles do not have provision for 'pass-through' circuit connections.
Logged
K5TED
Member

Posts: 699




Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 18, 2013, 07:52:13 PM »

I had the same problem. Replaced GCFI with a new one from Home Depot. Problem solved.
Logged
KG6YV
Member

Posts: 506




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2013, 09:42:36 AM »

You can try a better breaker but often when the house is under or inside a loop RFI is inevitable.
It is recommended not to run a loop with the house inside its circumference.

FYI

Logged
K7RNV
Member

Posts: 98


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 25, 2013, 10:05:10 AM »

 Grin I had the same problem and replaced the gfi with a high end one, problem gone...............
Logged
W2MV
Member

Posts: 207




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2013, 11:01:56 AM »

After some electrical work in 2011, two new GFCI outlets popped the first time I transmitted on 40 meters. The 40 M dipole is close to the house. I called the installing electrician who promptly replaced them and the problem went away. If I remember correctly only 5 mA of leakage current may trip them.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!