Call Search
     

New to Ham Radio?
My Profile

Community
Articles
Forums
News
Reviews
Friends Remembered
Strays
Survey Question

Operating
Contesting
DX Cluster Spots
Propagation

Resources
Calendar
Classifieds
Ham Exams
Ham Links
List Archives
News Articles
Product Reviews
QSL Managers

Site Info
eHam Help (FAQ)
Support the site
The eHam Team
Advertising Info
Vision Statement
About eHam.net

   Home   Help Search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: RF Grounding  (Read 993 times)
KF7ZCH
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« on: March 26, 2013, 02:23:10 PM »

Will the use of rf grounding make the hissing in my radio decrease?  Does the lack of an rf grounding affect my signal?
Logged
WB2WIK
Member

Posts: 20611




Ignore
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2013, 02:25:08 PM »

Usually not.  For both.
Logged
WA3SKN
Member

Posts: 5494




Ignore
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2013, 05:51:05 AM »

Disconnect the antenna and short the antenna jack.  Any noise will be internal to the radio, incoming via the power or ground.  So if the noise ceases, it is incoming via the antenna jack.  If it does not, it is time to check incoming power and ground... and RAREly is it incoming via the ground!
If there is excessive noise incoming via the antenna, you will probably want to locate and shield or filter the source.
Good luck with the project!
73s.

-Mike.
Logged
AA4PB
Member

Posts: 12891




Ignore
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2013, 06:03:14 AM »

I don't see where you specified the type of antenna you are using. If its a center fed dipole or similar balanced antenna then RF grounding should make no difference in the signal. If its an end-fed wire then RF grounding will make a huge difference since it provides the other side of the circuit for the antenna feed.

Logged
KF7ZCH
Member

Posts: 13




Ignore
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2013, 06:36:38 AM »

Thanks for the responses.  Thinking about what you all have said has made me think about another question I have.  If I want to have a vertical and make a coax run through the walls of my house, how essential and possible would an rf ground be?  My shack's location is near an inside wall.
Logged
K5LXP
Member

Posts: 4506


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #5 on: March 27, 2013, 07:59:45 AM »

If I want to have a vertical and make a coax run through the walls of my house, how essential and possible would an rf ground be?  My shack's location is near an inside wall.

"RF Grounds" are part of antenna systems.  They have nothing to do with coax or where it may be routed.


Mark K5LXP
Albuquerque, NM
Logged
K8AXW
Member

Posts: 3898




Ignore
« Reply #6 on: March 27, 2013, 08:19:20 AM »

ZCH:  Some excellent reading on grounding can be found at:  www.w8ji.com

Logged
WA3SKN
Member

Posts: 5494




Ignore
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2013, 04:49:27 AM »

Assuming an HF vertical working with a counterpoise, you have an unbalanced antenna with an unbalanced feedline.  You might want to put a ferrite or two on the coax at the base of the antenna, but you should be OK.
73s.

-Mike.
Logged
K1CJS
Member

Posts: 6042




Ignore
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2013, 05:02:55 AM »

Don't forget the incoming antenna feed line.  If you're using ladder line or its equivalent, any noise source near the antenna feed line could put noise on the line.  If co-ax, the cheaper, less than 100 percent shielded coax could well have the same problem.  Good luck and 73.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!